Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor Review

In general, Karou has managed to keep her two lives in balance. On the one hand, she’s a seventeen-year-old art student in Prague; on the other, errand-girl to a monstrous creature who is the closest thing she has to family.

Raised half in our world, half in ‘Elsewhere’, she has never understood Brimstone’s dark work – buying teeth from hunters and murderers – nor how she came into his keeping. She is a secret even to herself, plagued by the sensation that she isn’t whole.

Now the doors to Elsewhere are closing, and Karou must choose between the safety of her human life and the dangers of a war-ravaged world that may hold the answers she has always sought. 

DOS&B

Daughter of Smoke and Bone was January’s book club book. It was my second choice, but when I really looked at it, I was quite gutted we’d chosen it. I didn’t really have an interest in reading it. It seemed very sci-fi/fantasy-y, and Young Adult, which I’d always say I’m not really into (yes, I know the last book I reviewed, and loved with The Hunger Games: Mockingjay). One Saturday I forced myself to start it.

And didn’t stop. I read all day. I stopped to make dinner. In the evening I started watching TV, but it didn’t hold my attention, as DOSAB was on my mind. I had to carry on until I fell asleep, then when I woke up, I couldn’t stop myself from reading until I finished it.

As you can tell, I loved it.

From the beginning the story really drew me in.

Kauou wants to be able to live a normal, human, life, without interruption from Brimstone. But he, along with his other ‘Chimaeras’ are the only family she’s ever known, so how can she give them up. She’s Brimstone’s courier, travelling the world (through the door from his shop which opens to many different countries and cities across the world), to collect his ‘gems’, but he asks too much of her, and she often has to leave Prague for hours, days, sometimes even weeks and isn’t able to tell her friends why.

However things start happening that may lead her to having to make a decision. How can she choice Brimstone and ‘her family’ though, when all she’s seen of ‘elsewhere’ is his shop – she’s only been allowed through the door to earth, not the other side.

On top of all this, she wants to know who she is, who her parents are, and how she came to live in Brimstone’s world.

The best thing about this book, is it’s the first of a trilogy. Two more books. How brilliant is that! I’m really looking forward to reading them. 

It seems I love YA Fantasy/Sci-fi series’ – which I should have realised  before, when I consider books from the Hunger Games’ and Delirum series’ were among some of my favourite books of the 2013 (and 2012 – I read one of each in each year!).

The book is mainly set in Prague, but travels other countries and continents, and of course to ‘elsewhere’ and beyond, so it fits perfectly into the Antartica/Other Setting category for the ‘Global Reading Challenge’ I’m doing this year. 1 down, 6 to go.

One thought on “Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor Review

  1. Pingback: Global Reading Challenge 2014 | Newtowritinggirl's Blog

Leave a Reply

