Too much writing

I’ve just written the second half of my assignment one (the first half is saved on another computer) and the word count is 371. The whole piece needs to be 300 – 500 words. Oops. It looks like I’m a little to eager. And the really worrying thing is I thought this was the shorter half (shorter section). From school I remember cutting down words it a horrific job, so I am wondering if I should just start again. I just don’t know how I am going to loose 250 words. I also don’t know how I am going to have time to try over the weekend. I really want to get it done over the weekend and don’t want to miss the 1st deadline I set myself. I’ll try.

Yes, busy weekend coming up. Drinks tonight. Shopping tomorrow. drinking tomorrow night and working (job number 2 – or would that be 3 now I’m writing too? I should really class that as a job. Although the thought of having 3 jobs scares me immensely, so maybe not) Sunday night. Phew, I’m exhausted just thinking about it. Hopefully I’ll be able to squeeze in a couple of lie ins and some writing. The boyfriend’s hopefully got a new Wii (free – job work hunny) so I imagine he’ll be playing on that all weekend – will I get dragged in, or will I resist temptation and use the time to write? Only time will tell. Only time will tell.

3 thoughts on “Too much writing

  1. You give it to me, and I take it apart with a chainsaw. Seriously though, here are some tips to break it down:

    Look for adverbs and adjectives. If you see something ending in ‘ly’ you can probably take it out and make the sentence stronger. Also look for things like “the red ball bounced.” red can be removed.

    also look for descriptions that are obvious. I remember reading an article about someone trying to cut down words in wedding articles. He was writing stuff like “The bride had a bouquet of flowers.” ‘of flowers’ can be cut because its obvious what sort of bouquet she had. After all, she’s not carrying a bouquet of sausages is she?

    If you’re still having trouble, hit me up with the assignment and I’ll help you cut it down.

    • Thanks for that advice – I will definitely be checking when I get home (and based on that sentence I will find lots). It makes a lot of sense and I think I probably do use too much description (For the bouquet of flowers I would have also put in the colours too!!!). 🙂

    • Hi Uninvoked,
      I just wanted to say again, thanks for the help here. I gave up on that piece of writing, but had to do the same with another. Your ideas worked brilliantly.
      Thanks
      NTWG

Leave a Reply

