Too many choices

I found out this weekend that more people read my blog than just my other half. This really excites me, but also really scares me. People are reading what I write. This is the thing that scares me about writing – other people reading it. This is the reason that only the man and my Mum know about my blog. This could create a little problem when trying to sell writing and novels. How can I be scared of my biggest ambition? I do worry myself sometimes. (Thanks to the people who are reading this – hopefully over time I will conquer this fear!).

I’ve now done 2 different versions of assignment one. Over the weekend I went clubbing to Pacha (Hed Kandi – woo hoo!) and for the whole night I couldn’t get the thought out of my head about what I would write if I was reviewing the night (the assignment is to review a place I visit that interests me). I wasn’t sure if reviewing a club would be appropriate for a writing course, but then realised that people do review club nights in magazines, so why not give it a shot? So yesterday I wrote assignment 1 – mark 2. This time I managed it in the right number of words (just – only by cutting out the last sentence).

Now I need to decide which version I should send as my assignment. Decisions decisions. I’m going to read through them both tonight (maybe re write the Science Museum one to cut down the words – maybe go through cutting out words) and see. My problem will come if I read them both and like them both. I have never been good at making decisions on things like this (I can’t think when I would have been in the position to make that kind of decision before). If something’s good I want to use it. Lets just hope one of them isn’t good.

My other problem (I swear I just make them up for myself) is knowing whether to ask other people’s opinions on the articles to see which they think I should send in (or what they think of them). I really think I should make the decision myself as the course is all about me so I should be deciding. But I want opinions. But then if I get opinions I might change things to go with their opinions, which might make the course pointless as they are giving me judgement and help on my writing, not someone else’s.

Leave a Reply

