Why am I doing this?

This question is the other half of the first assignment of my writing course. Why do I want to write? What do I want to gain from the course? What are my plans for the future? I know, I’d already started answering this question – but this time I’ve done it properly (as I forgot the 2nd and 3rd parts last time).

It’s really hard to answer these questions. I want to write because I always have wanted to. Not really a very good answer. And not really 300 words. I’ve done it anyway. It’s not going to be ‘marked’ anyway – it’s just so they can set me up with a suitable tutor. And so they know what I want to get from the course. But me being me has to make it perfect. I suppose that’s a good thing though.

I think I’ve made a decision that I’m not going to put my work on here. I know I’m doing this to see how I get on and improve etc but think I want to keep the actual work separate. Or maybe I’ll add it once I’ve had it back from the tutor. What I will do though is add the work that I do, but am not sending off. So I think in the next few days expect a review of the Science Museum – LATES. Yes this means I have (nearly) decided I’m sending the Ked Kandi review for my first assignment. I think. I had decided I would, but now it’s in black and white I’m thinking maybe I should send the Science Museum one. I am so bad at decisions. I’d also forgotten the potential 3rd option of the Museum I’m going to tomorrow night. Ahhhh.

On another point, I’ve started reading Lady Chatterley’s Lover again. I had kind of got a little bored of it. It doesn’t seem to be going anywhere and I don’t think I care that much anyway. But I think I should persist. I guess. No, I should read lots and read varied things. This is defiantly varied!

I’m keeping up with reading the papers too. I read The Independent and The Guardian every day. Well, I read the interesting articles from the 1st half of each. I’m now not feeling as out of my depth with them, I can read and take it all in. Also some times I am reading the Times online (the interesting articles I find on that). All good reading.

I can’t remember if I mentioned this before, but I feel like I need to know (remember) more words for ‘said’. So, I’m going to skim read through a book (probably more than one) and highlight all the words they use instead of ‘said’. Then copy them all into a notebook, or word document or something so I’ve got this reference. I think this is the best way of doing it, because it will also help with seeing the type of language used in the type of books I want to read. Obviously I’ll be using chick lit. I’m starting with ‘PS I love you’. Great book. Shame about the film – such a disappointment.

Leave a Reply

