And now for the planning…

I didn’t do as much of my course this weekend as I would’ve liked.  Or as much reading.  Oops.  To be honest it was to be expected.  I never do that much over the weekend.  I managed to find time to do some gardening and playing on the Xbox though, tut tut me.  At least the gardening is worth it (carrots and lettuce in a few months time!).

 

I did start reading Module four of the course.  One section of it was on titles.  YAY. The Bain of my life (in writing anyway).  It’s still going to be very hard for me to make them up.  I’m going to try doing them at the end of the piece of writing not the beginning (just use a working title while writing) because then I’ll know what I’ve written about.  What I also need to do is plan my writing.  At the moment I just write what write as I go, which to be honest I’ve always known was wrong but now I’ve been told!  So planning is the way forward! 

 

I also stated to read my new book – This Charming Man by Marian Keyes.  I’ve not found it as engaging as I usually find her books from the off.  But, it’s written as kind of a diary and a lot of the sentences start without ‘I am’ (e.g. it would say ‘Back at home’ not ‘I’m back at home’) and I’m finding it a little too… casual maybe?.  I’ve just realised it’s written in the present tense (I think – I will need to check that).  Don’t get me wrong, I am enjoying it – it’s a good story, and I’m only hearing one person’s view at the moment – there are three more to come. 

 

On Friday I was messing about on the internet, I wanted to write something, but had no idea what I wanted to write.  I found this site that suggests things to write to improve your writing, ranging from rewriting a fairy tale from another person’s perspective, to writing an excuse for not working today.  There’s literally 100s of ideas.  It’s such a good website.  Not that I’ve actually done anything from it, but I will.  If I can work out how to add a link I’ll add it (if I can’t it’s creativewritingprompts.com). 

 

I’m going to make a plan for this week.  Things I want to achieve this week.

  • Read modules four, five and six of the writing course.
  • Make notes on what I will write for assignment two (this may be harder than I think as I might need to do a lot of research before hand.  If I do, this can change to doing the research for it).

 

That seems to be my list.  It looks so short and easy.  I bet it won’t be.  I have decided I’m going to make notes on the course in another note book for easy reference.  I keep saying these things.  I need to start doing them!

Leave a Reply

