Positive feelings flowing

Today I am having very positive feelings.  I’m not too sure of the reason(s) behind this, but it may be one of several (or a combination of them). 

The weather is warm.  I have been told that today is predicted to be the warmest of the year so far.  I was cold on the way to work this morning, but that was three hours ago.  Apparently it’s now warm.  This means summer’s on it’s way.  Summer always makes me feel happy and positive.  Who knows why I choose to live in this cold rainy country!

I finished the book I was reading last night.  Yes, I stayed up too late finishing it last night, yes I am very tired because of it, but it was worth it. 1am isn’t as bad as 2am or later.  Really enjoyed it.  Marian Keyes – The Charming Man.  This is the kind of thing I want to write.  If I can do it even half as well as her, I’ll be happy. 

Finishing the book means I can cross one thing off my ‘to do’ list for this month. YES!  That always makes me feel good.  Just another eight million things to go (exadurate? Me? Never!).

I read a blog yesterday where the author had made a decision to set a timer for once an hour at work, and when it goes off, she will write for five minutes.  I think that is such a good idea, I have decided to do the same.  That will really help towards the 6,000 words I want to write this month.  I started it an hour ago.  I planned a scene from the ‘holiday book’, and started writing it.  After five minutes I wanted to write more.  So I did.  Half an hour and 600 words later I stopped.  Nice.  I am lucky (today I feel happy about it anyway) that my job is so quiet I can do it.  Yes, I’m interrupted by having to answer the phone every few minutes, but at a quick transfer and they’re gone.  I’ve started both the novel and my word count for the month.  Excellent. 

My touch typing is also going really well.  I don’t need to look at the keyboard.  Yay.  Also not looking at the keyboard means I’m looking at the screen so picking up spelling mistakes as they happen not at the end.  I’m saving loads of time correcting the spelling at the end of writing anything.  My spell check must be in shock at the lack of work.

So all in all today’s a good, positive day.  And it’s not even lunchtime 🙂

(Plus 450+ words on here, that’s a daily total of more than 1,000 today.  At this rate I’ll go well over my 6,000 target!!).

Leave a Reply

