New way of thinking

Yesterday I wrote the basic plot for the whole of the holiday novel.  I need to do it more detailed with scenes etc, and need to make a few decisions on things that will happen, but the basic plan is there.  I’m hoping that this new way of thinking (planning ahead of time) will mean I’ll get a little further than the 6,000 words I wrote for the last one. 

I told someone the plot yesterday, and they thought it sounded good.  Woo hoo.  Just hope I can make it good on paper.  I’m still feeling very positive (even though I have the worst cold – no man flu – ever, and it’s raining).  It is helping that I’m doing well for my word count this month.  Also that I get time to write when I’m at work is brilliant – if I didn’t have time, god knows where I’d fit time in.

I’m nearly through all the modules I have to read before I can start on my next assignment for the writing course.  I’m going to try to read that at lunch time so I can maybe make a start on it over the weekend.  I have a rough idea what it is.  When I first (accidentally) started reading about it, it scared the life out of me, but now I feel much more positive and like I will be able to do it.  I think it is analysing a magazine I regularly read and think I would one day like to try to sell articles for.  We’ll see though. 

This plan for April really seems to be helping.  I’ve managed to cross a few things off it already, which is inspiring me to do more to cross off more.  It also means I have something to blog about again.  It was hard to make an interesting blog when there was nothing to write about.  Now I have something I’m excited about I feel like my blog is interesting again (if only to me).

I guess that’s all for now (really want to add ‘folks’ to that in some kind of thing like that rabbit that says it.  Oh dear!).  I’ll try to blog over the weekend – I really should get in the habit of doing that – my track record is terrible for it!

Leave a Reply

