Worrying day today?

I managed to do some writing yesterday, even though I wasn’t feeling at all inspired.  I sat down and decided I’d just write.  Just whatever came into my head.  I started reading a ‘How to write a novel’ book once, and one of the suggestions was whenever you get the chance, just write.  So I just wrote. It turned into a 600 word scene that will be in Holiday.  Wow.  Was not expecting that.

That’s now the 3rd time I’ve been writing something that I thought would just be a random idea and it’s turned out to be a scene for the book.

I’m quite happy about this.  I’m getting lots of ideas.   But I’m not really sure the way I’m going about it is right.  Although in writing is there a right and wrong or should you just do whatever works for you?  I was thinking as I’ve never got further than 6,000 words with anything, the problem might be that I didn’t have a plan.  I didn’t know where the idea was going, what was going to happen etc. 

Holiday has a plan.  I know where it’s going so what I’m doing now is filling in the spaces.  If the story’s A to Z, I’m making up B, C, D… as I go along.  I guess I just need to do it.  If it works it works, if it doesn’t I’ll try something else.

My other little worry is that although I’ve written these scenes, they haven’t had an ending.  I’ve got to the end of my allotted time writing, or my available time writing and then left them.  It’s worrying me that I can’t finish them.  Should I be concentrating on finishing one scene?  Or am I right to capture any idea as it comes along at this stage and develop them later?  I guess again, I need to try this and if it works, great, if not I’ll try something else.

I’m not sure where my original idea notes for Holiday are.  But I really need them.  I’m sure I had given the main characters names and a few basic details so I want to go on them, not change them (although his name did come to me yesterday, I’m not sure if it was what I decided on before).  It was a couple of years ago, so who knows where it might be.  I feel I should start paying more attention to them now I’m writing more about them.  I want to know their likes and dislikes, their hopes and fears etc.  I feel like I’m beginning to sound like a writer.  Ooh, exciting. 

Totally separate note, I’ve changed my dashboard colours to blue.  I love it!  Except the second line from the top which seems to be some weird blue/grey colour.  Oh dear, a colour is making me happy!  That’s probably enough for today then!

5 thoughts on “Worrying day today?

  1. I’ve been thinking about, and tinkering with writing a novel for about 5 years, but it’s never taken off. I’ve now started a writing course in the hope it will make me do it. I’ve always wanted to so need to give it a try.

  2. I’m looking at the possibility of taking some Creative Writing lessons next year. I looked up your previous posts about the course and this bit “If you are so bad they think you would never be able sell anything they let you know, and you can’t carry on with the course.” seems kind of harsh and could really crash one’s spirit.

  3. I think their reason for saying it is they give a money back guarantee on the course fees (if you haven’t earned them back by the time you finish they refund them).

    I guess they also think isn’t it better to hear it straight off than spend so much on the course, so much time and energy on writing then get countless rejection letters? Luckily I’m not in that situation.

    Go for it, I’m really enjoying mine!!

  4. I guess you’re right, though it would still be heartbreaking and sometimes teachers can be wrong.

    I probably will at some stage, just need to decide when and where (and who) 🙂

Leave a Reply

