Making progress

I’ve just realised we’re half way through the 5th month of the year, and I’ve read I think 1 maybe 2 books all year.  That is terrible.  If to become a writer you have to read read read, looks like I’m not going to get there.  I blame the writing course.  I also blame my job for the hours for not giving me time to read.  I did have a long list of silly things I blame, but I didn’t think it was really funny enough to take up the space.  I MUST READ MORE.  That’s the long and short of it. 

The problem is, if I start reading a book, whenever I do that I’m going to feel guilty about not doing the course.  I need to prioritise.  Or find more hours in the day?

I sat down at my desk this morning and decided I’d do some work on ‘Holiday’.  I opened word and started typing.  Wow.  I had so many ideas.  I planned on writing a brief on the main characters, which I did start, but I got so many other ideas while I was there I’ve now got about 5 different sections on the document with different ideas of things that can go here or there.

I keep getting ideas, but then evolving them so changing them, but then really like the 1st idea.  How do I decide on which one to use?  I am terrible at making decisions when it comes to cutting things out.  Take the 1st assignment for my writing course.  It started as a review of the Science Museum Lates, the first draft was 500 or so words over – not too good when it should have been about 500 total.  But I wanted to keep it all in rather than cut bits, so what did I do?  Start another review of somewhere else, keep in the word count and use that instead.  Another thing I need to learn!

When taking a break from ‘Holiday’ I found a blog on here with a ’10 minute writing’ prompt (http://thesunlitdesk.wordpress.com/2009/05/14/free-writing-exercise-2/).  I did that and am quite impressed with what came out.  I do love these writing for small lenght of time things.  It worries me it’s because I don’t have to finish them and  I think I’m pretty scared of finishing things.  The main thing I need to concentrate on is that I’m writing.  That’s the most important thing at the moment.  🙂

Leave a Reply

