Editing, or lack of

I’ve just found a fatal flaw in my plan for writing lots and lots of words a month (I personally think 12,000 is a lot).  By trying to make this total, I spend all my time writing, whereas I think maybe I should spend some time editing.  I should be going back and reading things I have written a few days later to check the spelling, punctuation etc etc.  Also re reading and improving it.  I think next month’s word count will have to be reduced so I can edit too.

I decided I was just going to write today for 5 mins.  That 5 mins turned into about an hour and 900+ words.  I’m quite happy about that.  Quite a good start to a story.  Or middle bit to a story. 

My writing course tutor said (about assignment 1) that my observation skills were very good.  But when writing I feel like I don’t do enough to describe things – rooms, people, actions.  So, my plan for next week is to start improving this.  I’m going to go to a coffee shop/park/somewhere and write down as many details about what I see as possible.  The first thing I did for the writing course was to describe a person and scene I’d been at.  I choose the tube cause I’m there twice a day and was reasonably happy with the results.  That however was three months ago so next week I’ll go somewhere else and do it again. 

I quite like the idea of going to a coffee shop and writing down everything I see  (mainly about the room, but also the staff and customers), then challenging myself to go back a few days later and find more details than I had found before.  Then a few days later, each time trying to get more and more detail.  I stole this idea off the writer I was just writing about who does that.  In my scene she was going back to a coffee shop to find more detail than the previous time she’d been there.

I’ve recently realised that although my idea for ‘holiday’ is brilliant (so I think), I don’t have enough sub plots going on, I have the main story and that’s all.  I need to spend some time thinking about what else could be happening.  I think this might come when I do the full character analysis’.  I hope.  I did think that maybe they would just come up as I wrote, but I really want to do this properly and have a plan before I start.  Or before I get much further anyway.

Leave a Reply

