Extenuating circumstances?

I think I need to start coming to terms with the fact I’m not going to hit my targets this month.  Well the words total and everything writing course related too.

I’m wondering if I can get away with telling myself there are extenuating circumstances?  I’m working from an office where I actually have to work – no writing for me.  Not sure if even I believe that one.  There is a slight chance I can make the word total – I need just over 3,000.  but, there’s only one working day left, and I’m away all weekend.  I guess anything is possible.

I was going to go out at lunch to a cafe and observe the room, making detailed notes.  Stuff happened (free lunch at work) so had no reason to (if only I liked tea and/or coffee I could have gone in for one).  I’m going to do that tomorrow. 

I’ve just booked some holiday.  Next Thursday and Friday.  My plan for them is to spend a massive amount on my assignment and to get my head around ‘Holiday’ so far.  I’m not going to do this for every assignment, but I thought it was a good idea for this one as I just can’t get past it.  It’s really just  getting this magazine analysis out the way.  Once I’ve done that I can get on with the magazine article that I need to do for the second half of it.  Once I get over the fear of thinking what to write. 

I think I’ll use the holiday day to also do some more reading.  I got given a book at a car boot sale a few weeks ago (just given.  It was the end of the day and the girl said I could have it because she was only going to give it to charity.  result.  Although I now feel a little bad, a charity could have made some money from it.  I’ll give some to the next charity I see to make up for it!).  It’s American and sounds great, I think it’s called Singletini (by Amanda Trimble – don’t you just love google!) and about single, fun loving, Martini drinking 20 somethings in Chicago.  Drinking.  Fun.  Chicago.  May favourite things all in one. Yay!

Leave a Reply

