Ebooks and unedited books

OK, this is going to be a bit of a rant.  I’m reading a novel by a very famous author.  She’s written maybe hundreds of books, many of which I read when I was younger – and enjoyed.  But, I am having real trouble reading this book.  The story is great.  It’s a really good story that I just want to read more and more of.  BUT, the writing is terrible.  The number of times the book repeats itself and contradicts itself is crazy.  It’s really annoying me. Really really annoying me.  Simple things like describing a bedroom, in one scene there was just a bed in the room, and the next it was a mattress.  Another time the heroine turned away from the hero, he said something then she turned away.  She turned away twice in one paragraph.  I’m sure you could argue that it was her way of showing she turned back then away again – but it just feels scrappy.  And unedited.

I’m wondering if anyone has actually edited it at all.  I’m not perfect myself, not by a long shot, but if I was going to write a book, no, now I am writing a book, I’m going to read through it thoroughly.  Word by word, sentence by sentence.  And check for this.  I feel like it’s been written in one go, not read through, not edited then released to the public, probably to be bought by fans who will love it just cause it’s her’s.

I feel like me becoming  a writer is wrecking reading for me.  My brother’s a DJ and he once said to me, once you learn to mix, you never listen to music in the same way again.  It’s starting to dawn on me reading/writing is the same.  Damn.

OK, rant over.  Phew.  Next.

I read a few people’s blogs a few months ago about ebooks – are they the new paper books?  I totally disagreed.  I was of the thought I love reading a book, a paper book you can take on the tube, you can take in the bath, on the beach etc, and I didn’t think my opinion would ever change.  It’s not changed, but I’m starting to see the other side to it.  I’m probably in a unique situation where I have lots of ‘free’ time at work, sat in front of a computer. I’ve always wished I could read while sat there – but on a 5* reception you can’t do that.  So, I started reading an ebook a while ago.  It was great, reading while working.  I’m now on my second.  I stand by my original thought that ebooks will not take over from paper books, but I’m now starting to think there is a time and a place for them.

Because work’s got  a bit busier (and I’m reading a book there) I’ve not done any writing this week.  Actually I started a scene where two friends met for lunch in a posh restaurant.  I was working from a different office and forgot to send the file over to my main office.  I’m probably not going to be able to get it until August.  That’s really annoying.  Although I think I’ll do a new copy of it.  When I get the original back I can compare them.

Leave a Reply

