July’s goals

OK.  June was terrible.  I have no idea what happened there, but it was terrible.  I don’t want to lay the blame elsewhere, but I do blame the day job.  Two reasons.  One: I hate it and am finding it very hard to get motivated to do anything because of this hate!  Two: procedures have changed and my role has so I have less time to dedicate to writing.

That said, I think if I have some set goals I’ll try a lot harder to keep to them than last month when I had none.  Fingers crossed anyway!  So here we go:

  • Write 8,000 words ( I feel like that is a realistic amount.  I managed 6,000 easily a couple of months ago, and that was in only 15 days.  I don’t want to make it too high as I’d like to spend some time editing and rewriting what I write – with a high goal I don’t seem to do that).
  • Finish reading Brown Girls by John Wesley Ireland. (I’m really enjoying this so it should be really easy to finish.)
  • Finish reading ‘How to write a novel’.  (I really shouldn’t do this, as I’m sure I’ll cover all this in my course, and I’m nowhere near that section of it yet, but I can’t help it; I really want to!)
  • Spend 10 hours on the writing course.  (That’s only 2 hours a week, that is nothing.  If I can’t do that, I have some serious problems!)
  • Review Brown Girls on here once I’ve read it.
  • Review Mercy (I should have done that in May/June – oops!)
  • 20 blogs on wordpress.

That seems fair.  Achievable. 

I’ll cross off one blog and a few words.  Yay!

Leave a Reply

