Making decisions

I do have a slight problem when I’m plotting or writing things.  If I have a couple of ideas that could go in, I add them in brackets or italics and say maybe this happens, (maybe that happens).  I find it really really hard to decide which option to take. 

I find it so hard in fact that on the short story I wrote recently, I created a new ‘version’ of it so I could keep the original notes, in case I changed my mind about any ideas.  Is this normal?  I can’t imagine it’s good.  I guess it’s a sign that I’m a very inexperienced writer as I don’t know which ideas to chuck and which to keep.  I hope as I write more and more I’ll be able to make decisions easier.  And also throw away writing that’s bad.

That’s another habit I have.  I sometimes keep sentences/stories/paragraphs I edit, just in case I go back and think the last version is better.  Surely if I’m changing  what’s written it’s because there’s a better way of saying it.  I need to get out of the habit of this – imagine how many versions of the same thing I could have if I let myself.  I shudder just thinking about it.

I started writing a scene for ‘Holiday’ that’s been in my head for ages today.  I didn’t get very far as work and writing this got in the way, but I’ve started it, that’s good.

I came up with an idea I’m going to use for plotting ‘Holiday’ today.  At work we use these small cards for visitor badges, then just throw them away at the end of the day.  One side is blank.  I’m going to use these for different ideas and things that happen in the novel.  I read this idea a while ago, but am only just seeing the potential brilliance of it.  It means I can write ideas I have then discard them easily.  Also, at the  moment I’ve got loads of different word files with different ideas on – it will be good to see them in one place to see how I’m doing with it.  And how much of the story is in my head and how much I’ve actually written down. 

Right, home time.  Pizza.  Yum yum.

2 thoughts on “Making decisions

  1. Have to confess I sometimes save earlier versions of a story I’m writing on because there could still be some nuggets there that I may be able to use…sometimes yes sometimes no but at least I’m not kicking myself later for not having saved it. When it’s time to delete I usually know it’s right.

  2. Hi Laura,
    I wish that was the reason I did it. I just don’t have enough confidence yet in what I’m changing to think I won’t want to go back to the original idea. Hopefully I’ll learn.
    That is a very good reason to save work though; maybe I’ll keep doing it!
    Thanks for the advice again 🙂

Leave a Reply

