Another book down

I can’t remember if I’ve mentioned this before, but I’ve just been reading a book called ‘Light as a Feather’ by Helen Dunne.  I found the book in Camden market.  I very rarely let myself go to bookshops as I always walk away either much poorer, or with loads of books in my head I want to read but can’t afford.  But, it was my birthday so I let myself look (and my boyfriend was in spending mode so who I was I to stop it.  I’m very glad I got it.  It was the usual chick lit I’m so fat and need to loose weight kind of book.  Loved it. 

I thought it was going to go away from the usual ending, but it didn’t, and I wasn’t disappointed.  Someone (thanks CJ) commented on one of my last blogs about the predictable ending of chick lit books saying that we WANT the predictable ending.  I totally agree. When I was reading this book I started to really like the heroine.  When she lost lots of weight I was happy, and then when she got the guy I was also happy.  It’s like wanting a friend to be happy (just a made up friend!). 

I’ll definately be looking for other Helen Dunne books. 

It’s getting near the end of the month so I’m going to do a count up tonight of how many words I’ve written this month.  Hopefully I won’t be at my goal for this month, so that will inspire me to do some writing over the next couple of days.

The reason I’m not doing much at work at the moment is because I’m looking for another job.  A job that won’t end so late that by the time I get home in the evening and eat I won’t want to go straight to bed.  So I’m using my writing time to search for one and apply.  Obviously the market’s not that good, but at least I’m trying!

There is a little bit of me that thinks I’m mad – I have so much time to write while I’m at work that I really should stay in this job and write.  Especially as I’m doing this writing course.  BUT, the time I spend writing isn’t good time.  It’s interrupted time.  It’s noisy and I am frequently distracted.  Not good.

Leave a Reply

