I still don’t like titles

I just spend 3 minutes thinking up a title for this blog – what a waste of time.  The short story I wrote last month still doesn’t have a title (other than ‘Blueberry yogurt’ – which are the opening words) and my novel still hasn’t got a title (well, there’s ‘Hoilday’ but that’s definitelya working title.  It would be a rubbish title for this book). I wonder if the writing course I’m doing (or not doing at the moment) has a module on thinking of titles for your work?

I’ve had a pretty good writing day again today.  I thought of an idea for ‘Holiday’ and while it was fresh in my mind I thought I’d write it.  I think it’s ok. 

What I’m having problems with is finishing scenes.  I’ve written maybe six so far, and haven’t finished any of them.  I think I know where one, the opening scene, is going to end – and if I’m right, I think I’ve done the notes to finish it, but all the rest I’ve just kind of left hanging there.  This does worry me a little.  But at least I’m writing.  I should just be happy about that. 

I also did some reading last night and on the tube this morning.  I’m reading a non fiction book about ecomonics and how everyday things can be explained by it, ‘The Economic Naturalist: Why Economics Explains Almost Everything’ by Robert H. Frank.  Every once in a while I decide I need to read something educational.  I would like to say that this is one of those times, but in actual fact it was the only book I could find at my Mum’s a couple of weeks and I was desperate to read something.  I do like books that can teach me something so hopefully I’ll love this.  Especially as I did hardly any economics at school, and what little I did I paid vertually no attention to (General Studies.  I only went to give me another A Level – thank god I did, I wouldn’t have got into uni without it.  But that’s another story).

Last night I decided I really NEEDED to read something chick lit-y.  So I scoured my shelf for one.  All I had I’d already read.  The books I hadn’t read are pretty serious ones (John Grisham/Jodi Picoult) so not suitable for my current mood.  I NEED to buy some chick lit.  Or join a library (just remembered that was what I wanted to do during my lunch break.  Oops.  Tomorrow!)

That reminds me.  I watched a film at the weekend, originally a book, that I actually liked.  John Grisham’s The Client.  I started watching it not realising what it was, then it clicked (my TV guide wasn’t working!). Obviously it’s pretty old, but I think they did a good job of turning it into a film – better than any other’s I can remember anyway.  Randomly the next day another John Grisham book/film was on and I watched that – The Pelican Brief; I’ve got it on my shelf to read.  It will be interesting doing it the other way and reading the book after watching the film.

Leave a Reply

