Not a library member

Because I keep forgetting to go and join.  I blame the constant headache and dizziness – not that I like to complain.  I’m working in a different office tomorrow so will have to remember to join next week.  Damn annoying, really could have done with joining and getting a book out.  No book in particular, just something easy I can read.  Something chick lit-y.  I’ve not read one for a month or so and really feel in the mood for one.

I’ve let someone else read my short story from last month (Blueberry Yogurt).  He thought it was really good.  Ok, he is my boyfriend, so he may be biased, but I’d like to hope he’d tell me the truth no matter what.  Now I’ve got someone else asking to read some of my work.  Someone I don’t know (which I guess should make it easier), but someone who’s written a whole book.  And a pretty good one at that.  I’m trying to make myself send this to him.  Eek. 

I’ve not done any writing today.  I guess I re-edited Blueberry Yogurt (again) so that counts as doing something.  I really need to think of a new title for it.  Blueberry yogurt just doesn’t work!

I’ve just started writing something.  I have no idea what it is, or what it will be, but I’m going with it.  Lets see…

3 thoughts on “Not a library member

  1. If you’re looking for something chick lit-y I’d recommend either the new Sophie Kinsella book, Twenties Girl, or This Charming Man by Marian Keyes. Both great reads!

  2. Allowing others to read our work is really tough but it is a good way to build self-confidence in our writing.And re-editing counts as writing as far as I’m concerned. Polishing may very well be the most important part.

  3. Alita: I read This Charming Man recently, as always with her books I loved it. Twenties Girl is the top of my ‘to read’ list, along with Girl Friday by Jane Green.

    Laura: I’m hoping it gets easier with time. The fact two people have read my story and said they liked it is a big boost and has already increased my confidence a little.

Leave a Reply

