Library

I can’t help a second post today, I’m really excited.  I’m aslo pretty worried that I’m so excited.

I’ve finally joined the library.  I did it at lunchtime so didn’t have enough time to look round properly, but I am very excited none the less.  The have a ‘best sellers’ section, they have a travel section, they have a COOKERY section and they have a WRITING section.  They also have DVDs and CDs.  Ok, so maybe I’ve not been a member of a library for years and these things are normal, but I am so excited about them.  I do worry how much time I could spend there, and how many books I’m going to have to add to my ‘to read’ list, but these small worries are currently being numbed by my enthusiasm for it. 

I feel like everyone has something in them that makes them slightly geeky, whether they’re a computer geek, a film geek, a celebrity geek, whatever.  I think I’m a book geek.  And you know what, I don’t care.  I love them.

Sorry, just had to share!

2 thoughts on “Library

  1. I feel so old.

    There used to be a time (a million years ago) when libraries had magazines and paperwork (hatches, matches and dispatches) available on microfiche. Yes, I can remember flicking through those. Sometimes they even had access to Usenet.

    The DVDs and CDs being in libraries now – along with computers – have managed to bring in more people, but not so much for the books. There’s nothing to compare with reading from actual printed books.

    If you want to have a bigger reading list then just ask. Have you tried Ray Bradbury yet? Or Lester Dent? Neil Gaiman?

    Have fun at the library.

  2. I’ve not tried them. I am trying to widen the genres I read, so I’ll stick them on my ‘to read’ list. Not so sure of Lester Dent, but I’m willing to try anything once! Thanks for the recommendations.

Leave a Reply

