Wednesday’s Words of Wisdom

Wow, a semi decent title.  It’s only taken me seven or so months of blogging to get one.

I’m going to the Science Museum’s adult only night tonight.  I’m so excited.  It’s reminded me that my first visit there was in order to write a review for my first writing course assignment.  I wrote it, but it was double the length it was allowed to be, so in the end I went somewhere else and reviewed something else.  After sending the assignment in, I said to myself that I would continue to review places I went to, for practice writing different things.  I haven’t.  I think I might do one when I get home tonight/tomorrow.  I’ll definitely make notes on it anyway!

I left my book at work last night, so no reading on the tube home or coming to work this morning.  Don’t you just hate it when that happens! Especially when you’re reading a really good book.

I’m trying to practice touch typing, but it keeps making my arms ache.  I must be doing something wrong.  I need to find out the ideal sitting position to type, and do it.

I did some free writing this morning.  It turned into something very strange for me.  It was the beginning of a thriller. What?  Something that’s not chick lit?  Whatever is the world coming to?  I don’t think it will go anywhere as I can’t imagine I’d be able to think up enough to go in a thriller story.  I do envy good thriller writers, I can’t imagine being able to think up something that keeps readers on the edge of their seats for a whole novel.  Maybe one day, who knows where my writing journey will take me.

I’ve just found out Marian Keyes has a new book coming out in October.  Oh my god, and Cecelia Ahearn.  That’s my Christmas presents sorted!

Ok here’s something I’ve been meaning to write about.  And something I feel I’m missing.  Have you notices that a huge number of chick lit authors (the main ones I read) are Irish?  Is there something in the water over there that makes them amazing story tellers?  Would I have more success if I was Irish?  Should I move over there and pretend I am?  It’s strange isn’t it!

This is not a good idea.  The library I joined yesterday has an online catalogue.  I’ve just spent the last 10 minutes looking at it to find books, I’ve just added loads to my ‘to read’ list.  Damn, I’ll never get though it now!

Leave a Reply

