Spare time today?

I’m not really sure if I have time for a blog today, but I’ll give it a go anyway (no time to edit it, so sorry if it doesn’t make sense!).

I found out today I’ve got to have an operation in the next 6 – 10 weeks.  I’m going to have to stay in there for at least a night – originally I was told it would be a day trip – in one morning, out that afternoon, so am slightly dreading it.  BUT, I’m going to need 7 – 10 days off afterwards to recover.  Now, thinking of silver lining and everything, 7 – 10 days at home.  No work.  I feel a lot of writing will happen.  I’m really excited.  I know I’ll be feeling a bit off, but it’s free time.  Woo hoo!

I started a new novel yesterday – Mr Toppit by Charles Elton.  I nearly bought it a few months ago as it’s one on the ‘Richard & Judy Summer Read’ list.  I’ve read a couple of their recommendations in the past and loved them so always look out for them.  I didn’t buy it, but someone from my office did, and when I got talking to her, she said I could borrow it after her.  She couldn’t get into it, so said I could read it first.  I on the other hand, am getting into it.  I’m on the second chapter and fining it good, I can’t see myself stopping it like her!  Like I said about the last book I read (High Society by Ben Elton – think I could maybe find an author with another surname?) I am starting to, automatically, notice the writing styles of the books I’m reading, things I like, things I don’t etc etc.  I think this new found talent I have (talent? What?) will come in very useful when planning writing. 

I’ve already decided I’m probably going to make a list of different ideas that I DO like, to have  a go at, and things I DON’T like as a reader, to ensure I stay away from.  I do have a terrible memory, so am likey to think I don’t like a style or something, then totally forget and write using it a month or so later. 

I’m going to the theatre tonight (Alan Cummings – a comedian in his new show) which I’m really looking forward to.  But I’ve got an hour to kill in town before I meet my friend, so I’m going to go to the library.  Granted it’s mainly to use the internet (get my Facebook fix for the day!), but I’m also going to look at the books.  I’m in the process of reading 3 novels, but another one or two won’t hurt anyone.  Especially as I’m going on holiday a week tomorrow (have I mentioned that before…?).  We will be doing a lot of activities, so I won’t read the usual 3 novels I do when I’m lying on a beach, but I have requested sunbathing time, so should be able to read some!

I nearly did some work on my writing course, but remembered my laptop was at my boyfriend’s, convenient eh?!

4 thoughts on “Spare time today?

  1. It’s good to hear that you will have some time off to devote to writing and that you’ve turned something like having an operation into something positive. I’m sure with that attitude you will accomplish lots while you are off!

  2. I think I need to focus on something or I’ll go mad worrying. It’s nothing major, but as I’ve never been in hospital it’s pretty scary!
    I sprained a ligament in my foot a couple of years ago so had to have 2 weeks off work – I wrote 6,000 words for my 1st ever novel attempt. I hope with this much time off and more of an idea of what I’m doing will ensure I’ll do as well if not better this time.
    Thanks again for your positive words.

  3. I don’t know If I said it already but …This blog rocks! I gotta say, that I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read..Jim Bean

  4. Hi JimmyBean. Thanks for your comment, no you hadn’t said it before, but please feel free to say it again, he he. 😉

Leave a Reply

