Going on holiday in the morning!

This will probably be a rubbish and pointless post as I can’t think about anything other than my holiday.  I leave work in 3 hours 15 minutes (not that I’m counting down or anything) then it’s pack, sleep and go.  Honestly, I am surprised I am containing my excitement so well (I’m not sure I am actually – I’ve told everyone who’s asked how I am that I’m off tomorrow – that’s quite a few people as I’m on reception today!).

One of our managers from head office has £150 to give away to the site who is most deserving of it.  All we have to do to get it is come up with the best reason in 50 words.  You’d think that as one of my team wants to be a journalist and I want to be a writer we could come up with something.  No yet.  I think I’m too excited about my holiday to concentrate on it (have I mentioned I’m going on holiday?).

*A few minutes pass*

This is my (final after many attempts) contribution:

The friendly team here, Are so bright and bubbly, We should win the dough. 

I thought I’d do it as a Haiku (Haiku’ is one of the most important form of traditional Japanese poetry. Haiku is, today, a 17-syllable verse form consisting of three metrical units of 5, 7, and 5 syllables).  Unfortunately the journalist has come up with a good poem (too many words).  Well at least I was right that we’d have some ideas between us.  Come on £150 🙂 

Right I really must go and finish my ‘to do before holiday’ and ‘must pack to take on holiday’ lists.  They’re pretty long so I wonder if they count as writing…?

Leave a Reply

