Nearly October… eek!

That is really scary.  Where has this month gone?  I’ve been good this month and not counted up my words written yet.  I think that when I reach my goal before the end of the month I get a bit lazy and can’t really be bothered to do any more.  So this month I’ve purposely not counted.  I know it’s going to be my higher than my goal though – I’ve been on fire this  month.

Yesterday was my day to my self – that I was going to spend (partly) doing some writing.  I didn’t.  But, I did do some good things so I’m not going to beat myself up about it.  I went for a run (the first for about 2 months and I did pretty well – my aching muscles today show that!), ate healthy proper cooked meals and had a spring clean.  I feel refreshed because of it all so hopefully that will propel me on my way to do some writing.

My laptop is possibly on its way out; I know I’ve been saying that for a while, but last night the screen was flashing on and off for about 20 minutes.  Luckily for me I have a lovely boyfriend who A. has a massive external hard disk that I can save my stuff on, and B. a nice new laptop that he is happy to let me use.  I’m going to have to get a new one, just not right now.  I’ll probably get one through a mobile broadband package thing – spend x a month and get a free laptop.  It’s not really something I can afford, but it’s a necessity when I’m doing a writing course. 

Speaking of the writing course.  I accidently read my next assignment yesterday.  Well, part of it anyway.  It genuinely was an accident – I thought it was my current assignment.  Oh well.  It looks interesting anyway.  The course is structured so you do non fiction first, then move on to fiction.  I cannot wait to get to the fiction bit.  Must hurry!  I’d ideally like to have the current assignment finished by the end of the month so when I’m off for that week after my operation, I can work on the next assignment.  That’s the plan anyway. 

I think I’m all ready to interview people for the assignment.  I think I’m all prepared.  I know it’s being a bit of a wimp, but I think I’m going to do these ones via email.  It is me being a wimp completely, I’m scared to do it face to face or on the phone; the way I see it though is it will build my confidence in interviewing so next time I’ll be braver and do it face to face or on the phone!

Oh, finally, I finished The Dirty Secrets Club.  Loved it.  Really happy as now I’ll read the Memory Collector – which was really the one I wanted!  Also I’m now going to read something very chick lit-y.  I haven’t done for ages – can’t wait.

One thought on “Nearly October… eek!

  1. Don’t put off the interviewing thing. My advice is to get stuck in – the only way to build confidence is actually doing it. The one thing that put me off applying for my current job was the fact it meant a high-profile role in meetings. And I hate meetings. But I thought I can’t justify not applying just for that reason. I was really nervous for the first few, but as time went by it got easier and easier. Two years later I still attend meetings, and can see my old nervousness in other people attending for the first time.

    Go for it and good luck!

    DJ

Leave a Reply

