Early morning blog

I’m doing a different shift at work today, meaning I’ve already been here an hour and a half.  I hate mornings.  But it means I get to leave early – 4.30pm early.  Nice, very nice.

Nothing much happens this early so I’ve been doing some stuff on ‘Holiday’.  I’ve written about 400 words on one scene and put all my different word documents on ‘Holiday’ in one folder.  I thought I’d written more than I have – a couple of scenes I thought were written are actually just in note form.  Damn.  Before I started writing today I had 6464 words.  Although as some of them are in note form maybe that doesn’t count.  Today’s plan is to finish at least this scene and maybe make a start on the other one that is just notes.  I may not have time to do it all, today looks like it might be busy here at work.  Not fair.

I started watching the new TV series Flash Forward last week.  I’m really enjoying it (episode two was last night).  I enjoyed it so much that I was looking on the internet for info about it and stumbled on to the fact it is based on a book of the same name by Robert J Sawyer.  As I love reading so much, I thought I’d have a look at the book and maybe decide if I should get it so I can find out what’s going on.  So I found it on Amazon, looked at the synopsis and it explained what’s happening in the TV programme – explains the big mystery.  So know I know.  I’ve wrecked the TV show for myself all for my love of reading.  At least this means I now get to read the book without an internal debate with myself about whether I want to do this or not.  Also means I’ve found a new author who’s books I’d like to read.

3 thoughts on “Early morning blog

  1. Am with you on the quality of ‘Flash Forward’, though am nervous of your revealing the synopsis and ruining it for me!

    Would also recommend ‘Stargate Universe’, which airs tonight in the UK but last week in the states, which means it is available to watch on live streaming (not sure of the legality but oh well).

    Didn’t you mention that you were writing another book, sort of a Ben Elton-esque dark comedy? How is that coming along?

    Keep up the good work on the blog – I check it everyday, and have subscribed to your RSS and your Twitter!

    Also thought I would add something to make your brain itch – http://www.nanowrimo.org/ – you’ve tried 250 words a day for #novelpi in October, so how about 50,000 words in a month (1,666 a day) for NaNoWriMo in November?

    Would also love to see some of your writings that you’ve done for OneWord…in fact it might be a great learning experience for you if you were to post these and then look back on your improvements over time – also would give all us fans the chance to nibble on some of your brain nuggets 🙂

  2. Thanks for your comment McPete. It’s always really nice to hear that people actually read and enjoy my blog 🙂

    I promise I wouldn’t say a word about the plot of Flash Forward except that… ha ha, only joking. Have you been speaking to my boyfriend? He’s a massive Stargate fan. I’ve seen a few episodes and it’s ok, little too sci fi for me to get too into it, but ok to watch sometimes.

    You’ll have to keep reading my bog to find out how I’m getting on (or not) with my other novel. I’ll give you a *** – working title is Love Authority (and yet it’s not chick lit!).

    Thanks again for your positive comments; I hope I continue to entertain. (I’m going to ignore the oneword question for a bit – posting work is still a little scary – I’ll think about it though.)

  3. McPete! I’m blaming you for this NaNoWriMo thing. If you hadn’t have reminded me about it, I may not have signed up for it today. I don’t know whether to (virtually) hit you or hug you 🙂

Leave a Reply

