Monday Blues

Someone told me today that people are supposed to be at their best on Mondays as they are refreshed after the weekend.  A small survey I did in my office (of three people) showed the majority (all of them) disagree with this.  Apparently my office are at their best on a Friday – when they’re about to have time off.  Is anyone honestly at their best on a Monday?  With a whole five working days ahead of them?  I don’t think so.  I’m definitely not. 

I’ve been struggling today.  I’ve been struggling to do my day job, let alone my writing.  I have however managed to write 900+ words, and it’s only 6pm.  That’s pretty good.  Considering how hard it was to make myself write one word, that’s very good.  It did feel like pulling teeth though, and the 900 words felt more like 2k, but still, I’ve done all I need to do, so any extra I can MAKE myself do will be a bonus.

I’ve just finished Cecelia Ahearn’s Thanks for the Memories.  I enjoyed it, but find it hard not to compare it to PS I Love You and Where Rainbows End, which I think are two of my favourite books ever.  I much prefer her straight chick lit books than the based in fantasy ones.  I’ve got another of her books to read The Gift – I need to wait until nearer Christmas though I think for that as the topic is Christmas – maybe the beginning of December I’ll find that.

The next thing I’m going to be reading isn’t what I ever expected to be reading.  One of the people I follow on Twitter asked for volunteers to read the 1st draft of her novel.  I’m really excited that she agreed to let me.  She wants to know if it works, what I like, what I don’t like etc.  It’s so exciting that my comments and thoughts could help to shape a completed novel.

Leave a Reply

