NaNoWriMo

I’ve done it.  I’ve taken the big plunge.  I’ve signed up for NaNoWriMo.  I think I’m mad, I must be mad.  I don’t think I’ve written 50k words IN MY LIFE, but now think I can do it in a month.  What have I done? 

In all seriousness, although I’m terrified at the same time I’m quite calm about it.  I have 7 working days off work to recover from a minor operation so figure I can do a whole load in those days.  I’m half thinking I might take 30th November off, just in case I need to have the day to complete my word count; I do have a couple more holiday days to take this year! 

I guess if I was going to worry, I should worry more about what I’m going to write.  I have a basic idea for a novel – a Mills & Boon style novel – but only a basic idea.  To write 50k words in a month, I need a lot more that a basic idea.  I also need to do a lot of research of Mills & Boon books – but I love reading so that’s not a problem.

I’m kind of cut up that I’m getting on so well with ‘holiday’ and I’m going to have to leave it in a couple of weeks, but it is only for a month.  As soon as December hits I can get back into it.

Speaking of ‘holiday’ I checked my (and everyone else’s) word status for week 2 of NovelPI yesterday.  I did even better in the second week, I wrote 6,572.  I’m really happy with that.  It’s not the 12,000+ I’ll be needing to write for NaNoWriMo, but it’s much, much better than the 1,750 I’m aiming for during this NovelPI.  Go me. 

I need to go to the library to take some books back today.  I’ve lost track a little with the books I’ve got out and the ones I’ve taken back – oops.  I’m taking back a couple of children’s books I got out for research.  With signing up for NaNoWriMo I’ll put the idea of a children’s book on the back burner!  While I’m there I’m going to pick up some Mills & Boon books.  I love being a library member!

Leave a Reply

