Nano worries

Good morning.  I’m feeling surprisingly refreshed for a Monday morning.  But then the sun is shining, the birds are singing (I imagine, I can’t say I’ve seen any in central London this morning) and best of all, I’ve only got 4 working days this week, no working days next week and then 4 the week after.  Nice. 

I am however starting to get terrified about NaNo.  I’m going to have to write 1667 words on average a day.  What have I let myself in for?  This weekend I managed about 500 total.  It doesn’t help that I didn’t have a computer all weekend so I had to write by hand, which I hate doing.  I’ll have to make sure I ALWAYS have a computer with me in November.

This week I’m going to aim to do as many words as possible a day – warm myself up for Nano.  Also to get through as much of ‘Holiday’ as I can before I have to give it up for a month.  I’m going to be sad to leave it as I’m really enjoying it.  Although at the moment I’m writing scenes where the MC gets dumped and doesn’t get the promotion she was expecting, so it’s a little sad.  I did get pretty emotional writing it as I had to remember how it felt to get dumped then imagine on top of that  losing out on a promotion to an arch rival.  I hope the emotion I felt comes through when it’s read.

I guess I should also do some more planning for my Nano novel.  There’s just not enough hours in the day!

3 thoughts on “Nano worries

  1. I have realised that I can knock off 1000 words in about 45 minutes, handwritten. So my plan for NaNoWriMo will probably entail 2 blocks of 45 minutes each, one for breakfast and one in the afternoon. My planning is going well, but I know I’ll come across gaps in my plotting and research as I write. My strategy will be to put in place holders, and do the research on December!

    My biggest fear is that I’ll get distracted by all the blogs and forums and tweets about the project. Perhaps I need to just stay off-line for the whole month …hahahahahahah…

Leave a Reply

