I’m Still waiting (in my head sung to Elton John’s I’m Still Standing)

Well, I’m still here, not operated on yet.  I had a nightmare which involved incompetent nurses, emergencies, stupid admin staff and inequiped theatres which led to Friday’s operation being canceled, rebooked for yesterday then canceled again.  Honestly I wouldn’t have believed it had I not experienced it. 

So, I’m back at work until I can have it on 13th November (before you say anything I know it’s FRIDAY 13th, I’m cool with that – at this rate I won’t even have it then anyway, so nothing to worry about, besides I don’t remember a single bad thing that’s happened to me on a Friday 13th!).  I don’t want to be here at all, I want to be snuggled up in bed at home.  I want to be writing and reading and watching TV.  But nevermind, only 7 working days until I have it; 7, that’s nothing!

I’m finding it really hard to write anything today.  I’ve done just over a thousand words, I need to do just under a thousand more to get up to date with NaNo.  I fell behind on the first day, but I’m fully expecting to get less words during the weekends and more during the week.  Just today’s hard.  I think it’s the whole not supposed to be at work thing getting me down.  I’ll plod on though.  When I’ve done this.  And maybe a bit more plotting.  Or research.  Or anything else I can find to do to put it off for a little longer.

I really annoyed myself yesterday, I wrote 800+ words then lost them.  I couldn’t believe it.  I think instead of copy and pasting the words into a word counter, I CUT and pasted.  Then saved before I exited.  How stupid.  At least it was only 800, not like 2k or something.  I won’t be making that mistake again!

Late last week I inherited a laptop.  My boyfriend bought a new one a couple of months ago, so has let me borrow (have?) his old one.  It’s not all that good (it’s quire slow and needs to be booted up twice before it works properly), but it does work  and I can write and surf the net on it.  It will be brilliant when Word has been loaded on it (little hint to the boyfriend there!), at the moment I’m writing my novel into Wordpad.  Not ideal!  It’s so nice to have a laptop again though, I feel like something that was missing has been replaced. 

My boyfriend’s found a challenge he thinks I should do in November, in addition to NaNo.  He’s somehow discovered NaBloPoMo (I can’t help thinking they got the idea of the title from NaNoWriMo – can’t imagine why): National Blog Posting Month.  The idea is you sign up, and post a blog every single day.  Including weekends.  I think this guy either wanted to see me crack under all the pressure I’m putting myself under (I’m still amazed I’ve signed up for NaNo) or alternatively doesn’t want to see me until December.  I don’t understand why, but I’m thinking about it. 

I hope when I get home Flash Forward (the book I bought on Thursday) will have been delivered.  With the postal strikes last week, I seriously doubt it, but I can but hope.  No Plot No Problem (the one I also bought) wasn’t in stock, so I have to wait for that.  😦

Right, how can I procrastinate now…?

4 thoughts on “I’m Still waiting (in my head sung to Elton John’s I’m Still Standing)

  1. “You could paint your toenails to look like talons, so when you pick up mice with your feet you can pretend you are an eagle…its an hour innit…”

    Bill Bailey, Part Troll

    • Ha ha, I love that, Bill Bailey’s great! I might find other, slightly more ‘normal’ ways to occupy myself though. Maybe by reading my new book – Flash Forward. Don’t worry, I still promise not to reveal anything…

  2. A blog post every day! Wow, that would be a challenge but a lot of people are pretty much doing that anyway (Which I’ll add I admire their ability to do so). I’d never have the time..And I’d soo run out of things to write about

    Good luck!!

    • I think I’d be ok at finding things to say – my longest posts seem to be on the days I feel like I have nothing to say – I have a great way of just wittering on. Having said that, I’ve decided not to do it, this month is proving too much with one thing and another, I don’t need the stress of this on top of everything else. Maybe next year!

Leave a Reply

