What now?

What do you do when you’ve just spent a month doing Nano?  Writing on average 1667 words a day?  Where do you go from there? I can’t decide. 

I know that contradicts what I said yesterday, that I’m going to get on with my writing course in December.  That is my plan.  But, I want to write fiction.  Not real life stuff.  Or maybe I just don’t want to do this damn assignment.  Also though, I’d really like to get on with ‘Holiday’.  During NovelPI I managed to write about 26k I think.  Add that to the words I’d already written and I’ve probably done about 1/3.  But it’s a bit of a mess.  I’ve got different scenes as different documents and bits missing which would connect them all.  I’ve got a feeling I haven’t even finished a scene!  I think I’m going to find it hard to get back into.  Saying that, I really didn’t want to put it down at the beginning of November to start on Italian Infatuation so maybe it won’t be that hard.

I should do the course.  I just feel so stuck with this assignment.  I need to write an article for a magazine.  I think if I could just get a subject I’d be able to write it, it’s just finding the subject I’m finding hard.  I’ve brainstormed it, got loads of ideas, but nothing that really screams ‘Write me’.  I also need to do a review of the magazine I’m targeting the article to.  I’ve already done that, but it was March or April’s edition so slightly out of date – I think I’ll do that again, it might give me some inspiration.  Hopefully!!

For the last 2 months I’ve been concentrating on writing, not doing my usual daily blog read to see what other people are writing about.  I’m so excited I don’t HAVE to do things that will take up my time, so I can go back to doing that.  In fact, I can probably take up a few weeks of this month checking out what happened in November. 

I tried to add my ‘Winner!’ banner for Nano to my page yesterday.  ha ha, I had no hope.  I used to think I was pretty good with computers, I’m really not!  Luckily I have a boyfriend who’s a bit of a geek, and he’s kindly volunteered to help (although after calling him a geek, maybe he’ll withdraw the offer!).

I picked up Dan Brown’s ‘Digital Fortress’ to read this morning.  I’ve read the other 3 ‘old’ books of his, and really enjoyed them, so am looking forward to reading it.  I’ve read a lot of people saying recently that his actual writing is terrible, just his stories are good.  During reading the last books, I didn’t notice it being bad, but then I didn’t used to notice much about style etc., I used to just read. I’m looking forward to reading this so I hope I won’t find what some people do in it!

I think that’s as much time as I can spend wobbling on for now!

Leave a Reply

