Monday, writing and thoughts

I really dislike Mondays.  Not because it’s the start of the week, but because it’s so far from the next weekend!  I really don’t think I’m cut out for this work thing.  Although, on the positive side, I am getting a pay rise this month.  Yay!  Still not worth getting up for.  I hate reception work.  And rainy days.  Ugh.

Ok, rant over. 

I’ve nearly finished that A-Z game poem/story I started at the weekend.  I’m just missing a line beginning with V.  Hmmmm.  I may also have to change a few lines – I think mentioning ‘decorations’ twice and ‘trees’ twice is a little excessive (although not together both times!)! 

I used to get a dictionary.com word of the day delivered to my inbox.  (I blogged about a word I got once – it meant meant forgetting the word you were looking for – I’d tell you what it was, but I’ve forgotten it!)  For some unknown reason, IT have blocked this.  Annoying!  Anyhoo, I found another one from Wordsmith.org, I don’t like it as much, but it’s still a good tool (if I used it!).  They have ‘themes’ to the words weekly – this week, it’s words about words.  Cool!  Today’s word is Rhopalic (silent H) – it means:  (adjective): Having each successive word longer by a letter or syllable.  Cool.  It gives a couple of examples, but I thought I’d give it a go – writing a sentence.  Not now, but sometime soon.  I promise. 

I’ve just realised since I’ve been back at work I’ve not got back into that oneword.com thing.  Where they give you a word and you have one minute to free write using the word as inspiration.  I used to love it.  I need to get back into that.  I felt like it was a daily work out for my creative juices.  I it’s possible one of these one minute writing ‘stories’ may turn into something more… who knows?

My boyfriend and I have talked about an idea he had for a novel – but that he doesn’t want to write.  Now I’ve finished Italian Infatuation, I’m tempted to do something towards that.  I shouldn’t – I should go back to the first one that I was so gutted to put down in November, but the idea of this one keep popping into my head.  Hmmmmmmmm.

Also, Italian Infatuation keeps popping into my head.  I know I’ve said I’m going to leave it until next year, but I’m desperate to read it now, I want to see if it works on paper how it worked in my head.  A thought fleeted through my head yesterday of developing it a bit more into a bigger novel, not a ‘short’ Mills & Boon one.  I don’t think I will, but I like the idea of developing the secondary characters a little more than I have been able to.

Leave a Reply

