Reading list and an Italian frame of mind?

I can’t get the words out today.  Normally my blogs are the words that spill out my head as I think them (you may have noticed) then just tidied up at the end, but today the words just don’t sound right coming out. 

I’m trying to say that I need to expand my ‘To Read’ list to be a list of books that are more than ‘Chick lit’ and ‘How To’ books.  I’ve just found a list by The Guardian of 50 Books You Must Read.  I need to read some of these.  I don’t want to be a person that hasn’t read the ‘classics’, and more.  Looking at the URL of the website, I’ve found that this list is movie adaptations, even so, it’s still a good list.  I’m going  to take some and add them to my list.  I’ll probably actually do some more research on ‘Classics’ then add them on. 

I’m going to try to read something with a bit more to it every few months.  I’d like to get to this time next year and be able to read over the books I’ve read, and be happier with them than I am this year.  I love chick lit and I could read it all day every day, but I have to read more than that.

I found a really good writing prompt on WordPress today here.  Victanguera found a photo on Flickr of a bottle and coffee on a coffee shop table.  I loved it, so wrote a little on what came to mind seeing it.  Worryingly it was a scene set in Italy (I think the espresso was the hint for that one) with a handsome Italian man and an English woman as the main characters.  Hmmm, where have I seen that before?  Oh, in the book I’ve just written about an English girl falling in love with an Italian man, in Italy.  I need to stop it and find something else to write about – something different.

I’ve started wondering today if I don’t want to go back to ‘Holiday’ now, because the story is set along the same lines as II – girl goes to a wedding abroad and falls in love.  It’s totally different, the story, the POV, the age of the characters, the characters, but maybe it’s a little to similar to be going to straight after II?  I don’t know.  

I think right now I’m going to focus on little things (daily writing prompts etc), not monumental feats, like another book.  Even if I am about 1/3 of the way through it already.

This is going to sound silly, but it’s really only just hitting me that I’ve written a novel.  Ok, so it needs editing to hell, but I’ve actually started and finished a whole novel.  A whole 50,500+ words.  Wow!  I know I’ve been planning on doing that for as long as I can remember, and the actual idea of the novel has been floating round my head for about 10 years,  but I’ve actually sat down and done it. Get me. 

The really good thing though, is that I’m going to do it again.  And hopefully again and again.  They say EVERYONE has a novel in them, well I’m not going to be one of those ‘everyone’s  – I’m going to be one of those ‘writers’ and write more than just one.  I don’t think I’ve really looked at it in the bigger picture terms – I’d just looked at is as a great achievement for November and for Nano, but really, this is a great life achievement.  If I could I’d pat myself on the back right now 🙂

2 thoughts on “Reading list and an Italian frame of mind?

  1. I’m glad you found the prompt useful. Good going on completing NaNo and a novel. Insert snoopy dance, pat yourself on the back, have a latte (with an Italian if that works). You deserve a bit of recognition for accomplishing a goal.

    Woo hoo!

Leave a Reply

