A few important decisions

My goals for September have been set for 2 days, and so far they’re going well.  Yesterday I went on Oneword.com to use their word prompt for a minute’s writing.  Then I decided I’d carry on with that bit of writing to get my goal for yesterday.  I think I made 280 or something.

Today, I had an idea for a children’s story – or collection of stories – so started on that.  500 words later I’m really liking the idea.  It’s cool. I might work on that a bit more for the next few days.  I don’t really know the exacts of what’s going to happen, but I know the set up, how it starts and basically the outline – that’s good enough to work on.

One of my friends sent me some information about a job that she thought would be perfect for me yesterday.  It’s a bit more money, but probably worse hours (I love my 10am start!) and would mean that I’d get paid to work, not get paid to work for a few hours then just look pretty (as the expression goes) on reception for the rest while I surf the net and write. 

I was really torn about whether to apply for it or not, so over dinner last night (in what will probably become our ‘local’  near his new home – awesome food!) I discussed it with my boyfriend.  He pretty much is of the same opinion as me that I’m never in my life going to be in the unique position I am of getting paid for a job where there’s so little work I can write pretty much as much as I want.  If I’m ever going to try to make it as a writer, now is my chance to try.  I’ve always thought that, but when something gets flashed in front of your eyes, it makes you think.  Especially when it would be better money – not loads better, but better non the less.

He said something really nice – that in his eyes, I wake up and want to write, and go to bed and want to write, therefore as I have an oportunity to, I should write.  I like that.  That makes me feel like maybe I am a writer.  In my head a writer is someone who makes money from selling things they’ve written, but that’s not really true.  I’ve just written a novel.  That really should make me a writer, shouldn’t it?! 

That’s the other thing.  I’ve just written a novel.  If I moved jobs now, what would the chances of it ever getting edited be?  Small?  None?  I’ve written a novel, not for my health (I would not have partaken in Nano for my health) but with the intention of trying to sell it.  That is, at the end of the day, why writers write.  I need to try.  If I fail I fail,  but at least I will have tried.  But, I might succeed.  Imagine…

Another thing we discussed last night was his mum’s love of Mills & Boon books.  I said, as an off the cuff comment, that I should give her a copy of my Mills & Boon book for Christmas – he thought it was a great idea, so after a bit of discussion I’ve decided I will.  He thinks that she will give her honest opinion of it, which is really what I need at the moment.  So, I’m going to have to get it into a state where it can be read – in the next nine days.  That means typing up the 2000+ words that are hand written.  I’ve also decided I’m going to have a quick read through just to check it all makes sense.  He he – I’ve found the excuse I’ve been looking for all month not to leave it alone until January.  Woop.

If I’m letting her read it, I feel it would only be fair to let my mum read it too, she’d be gutted if she knew someone else read it before her.  If I’m letting two people read it, I may as well let three.  One of my boyfriend’s friends has asked if he can read it.  As he’s an arty person himself – he acts in small local plays – so I feel pretty comfortable letting him read it.  He even stayed interested in it when I told him it was a Mills & Boon book.  Wow.  I’m letting three people read my, unedited, book! 

Maybe four actually, John from Bikemymoko wants to read it.  Although I think I’d like it to be in a better condition when he reads it – he’s written a novel himself that is pretty damn good I think. 

As a little non writing related add-on – It’s snowing!  In real life and on my blog.  Ahhhhh, I love snow.

One thought on “A few important decisions

Leave a Reply

