Thriller & Suspense Reading Challenge and other bits

I am soooooo tired.  No, actually I’m sooooooooooooooooo tired.  I wish it was because I’ve been out all night partying or something.  No, it’s because I can’t stop reading my book.  At all.  Especially at night.  When I should be sleeping. I was the same with my last book too, so I’ve not had a decent night’s sleep for over a week.  It’s killing me.

You can now see the book I’m currently reading to the right of my blog.  I saw this idea on Book Chick City’s blog and had to copy it (once the boyfriend was enlisted to work out how to do it!).  In some respects I hope I read very few books this year – then I won’t have to change it often.  (You’ll also see a new button for the T&SRC and my Nano winner one.  Yay!). 

I think I’m going to have to change the layout of this blog – I’d like one with a collumn to the left as well as the right.   The problem is I really like this one.  One day…

Back to the challenge then.  My first book is The Crush by Sandra Brown.  This was not supposed to be my first book.  I saw it on offer in Tesco last week and HAD to buy it.  You know when you read the cover and can’t stop yourself from buying it?  I had that.  It was the right thing to do – it’s brilliant.  As I said, I can’t put it down.  I’m about 2/3 of the way through it – in some respects I want the next 1/3 to go FAST, but at the same time I don’t want it to end!

I have way more than 11 other books lined up for this challenge.  I don’t know how I’m going to decide which ones to read for it.  I keep reading people’s reviews of books and wanting to add them to my list.  The list is way too long.  I think this challenge will be a definite success for me!

I had to return a library book yesterday.  I went there and managed to NOT pick up any more books.  I was tempted – really really tempted.  But (somehow) managed to stop myself.  Maybe it’s the fact I have 2 library books at home to read (and the one I’m currently reading ISN’T a library book); Maybe it’s cause I’m so annoyed at myself for having to pay ANOTHER fine to the library (it’s round the corner from work, I can renew online, and yet I still get fines??!?!  How?!!?); Or maybe (I’m going with this one) it’s because I had a little count up of how many unread books are on my shelf.  64.  64 plus a couple I added after the count that I couldn’t bring myself to add.  64.  That’s like 3 years reading right there (if I read at the rate I read last year – I hope to read many more this year).  AND the problem is, I know for a fact there are at least 5 books that are going to come out in paperback this year so I will HAVE to buy them. 

I need to win the lottery so I can stay home and read all day for the next year or so.  How good would that be.  With a little (lot) of writing too!  Apparently you have to do it to win it?  Who knew?  Will start that one tomorrow.  Wish me luck!

2 thoughts on “Thriller & Suspense Reading Challenge and other bits

  1. I love getting wrapped up in a good book! Sorry to hear you’re tired because of it, but hey – at least it’s a fun reason to be tired! 😉 There are so many books on my shelf, too…even with ‘spare time’ now that I’ve finished my draft (and before I start editing), it’s harder to find time to read than I thought it would be. Things keep popping up and take longer than expected. Oh well. I think today, I will plant myself on the couch with a latte and make myself read for FUN! (Looks ridiculous when I write it like that, haha)

    Have you ever heard of goodreads.com? A friend just told me about it a few days ago, and I joined, although I haven’t really poked around too much on there yet. Seems helpful, though, for anyone who likes to read and likes to talk/think/write about what they’ve read.

    • No I hadn’t. Had a quick look, looks like something I’m going to be interested in, when I have a chance to look round it properly. Thanks for pointing it out.

      It’s the best and worst getting so caught up in a book; It’s the effect that makes me want to write myself. My Mum’s reading my 1st draft at the moment, she was up until 2am reading it the other night, lets hope it’s the shape of things to come 🙂

Leave a Reply

