Et aujourd’hui?

Look, I remember some French!!  Actually I had to look it up – couldn’t remember how to spell it, at least I can say it though 🙂

My dreams of joining the Romantic Novelist’s Association in 2010 have been shattered.  Their New Writer’s Scheme (which is the only way you can join if you’re not published) is full for new members this year.  On 13th Jan, they’re full – that’s 250 places.  Full.  Wow.  It said on the website they don’t usually fill until mid February.  There must be a lot more wannabes out there this year!  I guess I’ll wait until next year.  Unless I’m published by then… I can dream…

I’m not going to get published until I make a start on this second draft.  I’ve still not started it.  I’m making the excuse that I need to get Microsoft Word on my home laptop so when I transfer from work to home (which I will do daily probably) the layout stays the same.  At home I’ve got another type of word document, which the words are compatible with, but not the layout.  It’s just an excuse not to start though.  I think I’m going to print it and work from a hard copy, then correct it on the computer after.  That’s how I used to write essays at university and it worked then, so hopefully will work now.  I just need to get my printer wired up to my laptop, change the ink and get some paper.  Not asking too much?

I’m a little disappointed with the book I’m reading.  I thought it was a real novel, but it’s turned out to be a collection of short stories.  I’m not a fan of short stories, I must prefer something longer you can really get your teeth into.  With short stories, I find as soon as I start liking or sympathising with the characters, it’s over.  Although there are advantages:I can read to the end of a story then go to sleep, rather than a novel where I say I’ll read to the end of the chapter, but something exciting happens, so I read on and say I’ll read to the next… and so on until it’s 1am and I can’t keep my eyes open any longer.  They’re good stories though. 

I’ve just realised it’s probably my slight dislike (that seems to harsh of a word) of short stories must be the reason I find it hard to WRITE short stories too. 

While surfing the net yesterday for Romance writers, I found a competition being run by Kaye Dacus.  To enter you have to write a short scene involving a lawyer proving love exists.  I have a couple of ideas floating round my head for that one.  It’s open until 29th Jan so I’ve got a little while to get my thinking cap on! 

Which is exactly what I’m going to do now.

Leave a Reply

