My First Short Story

I don’t really have anything to say as a post today, but thought I should write something to keep up with my plan to do 5 posts a week.  Rather than drivelling on as I know I could do for 600 odd words, I thought I’d post the first short story I wrote since I started writing last year. 

A while ago I found a website called Creative Writing Prompts (because I can’t think of prompts for short stories myself) and liked the look of prompt number 11:

Below are 3 sets of words (I’ve just shown the set I’ve used). Use all the words in each set to write mini stories in 300 words or less:

  • Paper Clips
  • Principle
  • Lunch box
  • Swing
  • Girl with a pink ribbon

The story I came up with is here (title-less – I can’t be expected to come up with a blog title and a story title in one day!?)

I can’t believe I’m here on the second day of term.  It doesn’t matter how often I get called to the school I am always nervous.  What can he have done this time?  Drawn on the walls?  Kicked sand at another child?  He never means anything malicious, it’s just the way his older brothers are.  They never mean anything either, they’re just bigger and rougher, unfortunately Sonny copies them.

 My attention is drawn to laughter outside.  There is a little girl with a pink ribbon in her hair being pushed on a swig.  I love my boys, but do wish one of them had have been a girl.  We wouldn’t dare try for another, four boys is enough, but I still long for a daughter.

 I look down and see I have been anxiously fiddling with two paper clips.  I fold them back together before the secretary can see what I’m doing and put them back on the table. 

As I do that, my attention is drawn to a pink lunchbox on the floor.  I smile to myself (I wouldn’t dare smile externally, the secretary would probably put me in detention for such an act), thinking how different we would react if it was left unattended anywhere else.  Police would be called, the building would be evacuated, the bomb squad would be called.  I wonder if you could fit a bomb in a lunch box?

 ‘Mrs Jones’ the secretary snaps at me.  God I hate that woman.  ‘The principal will see you now’.  Oh no.  I have to go in now.  I stand up and with shaking legs walk up to the door and knock.  ‘Enter’ is the reply I get back.  I look down to the handle and open it, noticing my hand is trembling, and walk in.

So… What do you think?  I know it’s not that good, but considering it’s the first one I’ve written (excluding school stories!) I think it’s ok.

3 thoughts on “My First Short Story

  1. Nice work! I think it’s great that it’s writing from the perspective of the nervous mother because there are so many told from the perspective of the nervous student. Well done and keep going!

Leave a Reply

