Pictures and Pitches and Piles and Piles

I’m going to start today with a little rant, because this is really annoying me.  I’m maybe 1/3 of the way through The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, and really enjoying it.  It’s not keeping me up at night, but I think that’s a good thing.  Maybe I’ve learnt to control my reading urges (doubtful). 

BUT.  Every time I pick it up, I get a little annoyed.  The cover shows the girl with the dragon tattoo.  Or so you would think.  In actual fact it shows a girl, who does have a dragon tattoo, but that has long hair scruffly held up – with long bits falling down.  Salander (the girl in the novel) has (direct quote) ‘…hair as short as a fuse..’  It annoys me so much that the picture doesn’t match the novel.  So much.  It’s even worse though, because I bet if Larsson was alive when the novel was published he wouldn’t have let it happen. 

Sorry, had to get that out.  Moving on. 

Actually I don’t have anywhere to move on to.  Nothing to say.  That can’t be right.  I’ll save the draft for an hour or so and have a think. 

*

That was silly, now I’ve lots to say (well a little more).

I started something yesterday that I thought might be interesting – if a little impossible.  I’m creating a list of all the novels I’ve read since been an adult.  Originally I thought it would be impossible to do because I’m never going to remember all the books I’ve read, but I’ve found something even harder.  I can’t remember if I’ve actually read LOADS of books.  I’ve got Amazon open and am going through the authors I can think of whose books I’ve read.  I’m on Jill Mansell.  I’m about 10 books down and already I can’t remember if I’ve read 4 or not.  I recognise the story line, but don’t know if I’ve only read the back, or the whole thing. 

I’ve should have known I’d have this problem, it’s the kind of thing I’ve done before.  I once bought a book, cause I thought it sounded really good.  I got to maybe page 3 before I realised I had read it before.  *sigh*.  Still it’s an interesting project, and again, a great way to procrastinate!!

The other thing I’ve been working on today (not my job obviously) is this pitch for the competition I was talking about yesterday.  I’m going through Winnie Griggs’ workshop on them.  It’s really really hard.  I think I’ve found a pretty big problem with my novel – there’s not enough background story to it.  Or, when looking at a pitch there isn’t.  I thought and still think there is, but I can’t find enough to fill the pitch.  Maybe I need to look at it without the distraction of phones ringing, people coming to reception and staff saying goodnight as they leave! 

That really is it this time!

By the way, it’s ‘piles and piles’ of books – on my read list 😉

5 thoughts on “Pictures and Pitches and Piles and Piles

  1. oh man I know exactly what you mean about inaccurate covers and how they can detract form your enjoyment of the novel within. One I remember having an issue with is this version of The Girls cover: http://tinyurl.com/yjj29jp

    I quite enjoyed the novel but every time I saw the (nice but misleading) cover I had to turn it over.

    Good luck with your book piles 🙂

    • Hi Lynsey,
      You’re so right – I loved the book, but it couldn’t have been more inaccurate if they’d put boys on the cover!

  2. Hello, thanks so much for reading my books! A handy hint to help you out – on my website there are pieces about each book and you can look at the first chapter, which should help you decide whether or not you’ve already read it. I agree – there’s nothing more annoying than starting to read, then gradually realising it’s sounding a bit too familiar…

    Happy reading!

    Love

    Jill x (@JillMansell)

    • Hi Jill,
      Wow what an honor having you comment on my blog. I love your books. That’s a great tip – I’ll be doing that shortly. Hopefully I haven’t read the ones I think I have so I’ve new ones to read 🙂

Leave a Reply

