Fiction Friday and a little more

I’ve been a bit quiet on the blogging front over the last few days  but I thought I’d break my silence for Fiction Friday as I enjoy it so much.  Read all about it and the rules here.  This week’s prompt is:

A family’s life changes dramatically after they are bequeathed an old painting in the will of an obscure relative.

When I read this nothing at all came to me, so I thought I’d cheat a little and not exactly use the prompt, but what happened before.  So here’s my effort…  As per the rules of Fiction Friday it’s not edited, it’s just been written. 

‘I don’t want to go though.  She was weird; I don’t want anything weird from her.’

‘Look Janie now is not the time for one of your teenage tantrums.  Auntie Frederique asked for you to be at the will reading and if it’s the last thing on this earth I do I’m going to get you there.’

‘But…’

‘NO! No buts. Just finish getting ready NOW.  This is not up for discussion.’  Before Janie could even think to say anything her mum had left the room and slammed the bedroom door behind her.  And she thinks I act like a child!

She knew her mum meant business so carried on getting ready.  She didn’t see why she had to dress up to go and see a lawyer, it wasn’t as though she had anything Janie would want. 

They’d not been to visit her for a few years, but Janie remembered being pretty freaked out when they went to visit her.  She lived in a massive dark spooky house in the middle of nowhere.  It was run down, apparently because her father had run up huge gambling debts in the last few years before he died so hadn’t spent any money on repairs.  There was nothing to hand down to Frederique so she just stayed in the rotting old house. 

Janie had never been that close to her, her brother Adam seemed to have a bond with her – he had time for her that Janie really didn’t have.  From a young age she couldn’t understand why someone would stay living in a house like that not move out.  It was creepy and Janie hated going there. 

At least this would be the last time she’d have to go there.  Frederique didn’t have any children to hand the house down to and it was common knowledge that she intended to give it to a cat charity when she died, it was a relief.

Which brough Janie on to question, what did she have that Janie would possibly want?

When she got to the bottom of the stairs she was still puzzling over what an 80 odd year old woman would think a 14 year old girl would want, when Adam pulled her arm, then her into the lounge. 

‘What..’ she started to shout but he clamped his hand over her mouth.

‘Shhhhhhhhh.’ He said slowly releasing his hands from her mouth and arm.

‘What do you want?’ Janie whispered impatiently.  She wanted to get there so she could get out of there as soon as possible. 

‘Do you think it’s the painting?’  He asked in an equally quiet voice.  Janie looked at him blankly.

‘What pain…’ she gasped.  It couldn’t be. ‘But that’s not real.  It’s just a myth… Isn’t it?’  Adam smiled wryly and walked out the door. 

That was kind of fun.  Although I wish we were allowed to edit it,  I think there could be some better descriptions of the house in there.  Actually I’m glad we can’t – I would be here forever trying to make it perfect.

So there’s a couple of reasons why I’ve not blogged recently.  First I’m working really hard on my writing course assignment.  I wanted to have it ready for today to send off, but in hindsight that was a pretty unrealistic goal.  I think I’ll go for next Friday instead.  There’s a lot more research to do than I thought there would be.

Also I’ve got a really horrible cough and cold so when I’ve not been working on my course I’ve been snuggled up on the sofa.  I’ve had it for over a week so it really should be going soon.  I hope.

I’ve a busy weekend coming up, but I hope to get some more of my course done then, I doubt I’ll get a chance for blogging.  Especially not with Valentine’s day on Sunday.  Not that my boyfriend really believes in it.  Not that his beliefs are going to stop him making me a special dinner that night 🙂

Happy weekend everyone 🙂

6 thoughts on “Fiction Friday and a little more

  1. This is a great start. The ending feels right and leaves options for lots of questions. Nice characterisation. Good work and well done.

  2. A nice start. I was expecting more!
    Several things intriguing me though, who’s Adam? what had happened which made Adam asked, ‘Do you think it’s the painting?’ He asked in an equally quiet voice.

  3. Welcome to Friday Fiction – I think this is the first time I’ve popepd over to your site…
    yes – its hard to ‘not’ edit – but its also very freeing… You did a good job with letting your characters just talk and uncover the story as you went. this will be a very engaging piece in its second or third draft format.
    I look forward to you ‘paying’ again next week.

    Sorry I am so late this week in commenting…-. mines here –
    http://annieevett.blogspot.com/2010/02/vardoger.html

  4. Thanks for the comments. I wasn’t very happy with it, but I think it was because I didn’t follow the prompt properly, or maybe because it was a teenager’s mind I had to get into and I’ve not really done that before.

    Annie, you have visited a couple of times before. I hope you visit again – next week when I play again if not before 🙂

  5. I love reading your posts every week- you have some great ideas and this piece is no exception! I think it’s really difficulty not to edit and write down the first things that come into your head, but then, just like you said, I don’t really like to edit either!! I wish there was some kind of programme you could download to your brain that would take the ideas we have and just produce beautifully written pieces for us without us having to put in all the hard work and edit lots and lots!! I think that’s why I love doing fiction friday though because there are no rules and you can just write and write and let the ideas flow- it’s very therapeutic and fun and you can tell that you enjoy it by the work you produce. See you this friday for more writing fun!! 🙂

    • Thank you so much for the comment, I find it so hard to believe (but brilliant) that people (other than my mum) look forward to my writing! 🙂

      That would be brilliant! But, I don’t think you’d get the same satisfaction when you finished it if you had just pressed a button, rather than slogged over it for however long!

      This train of thought reminds me of an article (blog?) Stephen Fry did on his website about writing. He quoted Thomas Mann ‘’A writer is a person for whom writing is more difficult than for other people’’. When I first started writing, I thought I wasn’t cut out for it because I found it so hard, reading this comment gave me faith in myself. You should read it, it’s a really good article: http://www.stephenfry.com/2009/09/05/emerging-into-the-light/

Leave a Reply

