I’m Back!!

It feels like forever ago that I last blogged.  I don’t really count Friday as that was really just my ‘entry’ for Fiction Friday! 

So, where have I been?  I’ve mainly been working on my writing course.   I’m very very close to finishing the next assignment.  It’s a 3 parter: list magazines that publish short stories, analyse the market and stories in one magazine, and, write a short story for one.  I’ve done the first, last and just need to finish the second. 

You could say I cheated on the writing of a story.  I used one that I’d written before, but it was written in the time I’ve been doing the course, so I don’t think it’s cheating.  Before I decided I’d use it, I was pretty impressed with it, but it was 150 words longer than it could be for the assignment, so I had to shorten it. 

Wow.  It is so much better now.  I had so many irrelevant sentences and redundant words.  Now I’m happy with it.  Except it’s not got a great title – The Friend Next Door.  I like the way it kind of has a double meaning, but at the same time I don’t really like the title itself.  Since I started writing it, it has been known as Blueberry Yogurt and I’m sad that title’s gone.  But, as ‘Blueberry Yogurt’ is what Word suggested I called it (the first 2 words of the story), it doesn’t really fit. 

I’ve also been writing a story for ErgoFiction’s Search Term Challenge.  I read about this on Merrilee’s blog and couldn’t resist giving it a go.  So much fun: Write a story which use 4 of the 7 given search terms that are used to find Merrilee’s blog (starting with one and finishing with another with two others thrown in.  I love a prompt – hence why I keep joining in with Fiction Friday.  The deadline’s tomorrow midday, so I’m going to send in my entry tonight. 

The stories are put online (without the author) then voted on by readers.  I have no thoughts that I may win, but it’s been really good fun writing it, and challenging getting the terms in. 

*I’m just going to have to stop this blog to have a moan.  WILL PEOPLE PLEASE STOP TALKING ABOUT THE RAIN.  Yes, it’s raining, yes it has been all day but I am now sick of talking about it.  If one more person walks past reception and says anything about the rain, I may not be able to finish this blog – I don’t think they let you have computers in custody. *

Also I didn’t blog a lot last week as I was ill.  Well, I think I had man flu, but I felt awful the end of the week and for half the weekend and just not up to writing (except Fiction Friday, but nevermind).

Yesterday I was reminded of a quote that my other half sent me a while ago.  It comes from Stephen Fry’s website, and it’s really a quote of a quote of a quote.  Thomas Mann said it, Clive James repeated it to Stephen Fry, then he blogged it:

”A writer is a person for whom writing is more difficult than for other people”

He then goes on to say that he nearly gave up wiring, until people told him it is supposed to be hard. 

My boyfriend sent me the link when I was really struggling with writing.  I’d started the writing course and started writing bits here, pieces there.  I’d even started a novel.  But it wasn’t going well.  I didn’t think I was any good.  I wanted to write, but kind of hated it to.  But couldn’t stop.  Then I read this and got it.  It’s supposed to be hard.  Now, whenever I’m struggling with something I remember that quote and it pushed me through.

Although saying that, it’s not pushed me through to the next draft of my novel.  Oh well, it will happen.

Speaking of, I’ve just heard about NaNoEdMo.  National Novel Editing Month.  Boy am I tempted.  50 hours of editing in March.  BUT I’m doing so well with my writing course that I really think I should carry on with it.  I’ve just read the next assignment and can’t wait to get started on it.  But it would  be good to do.  But so is my writing course.  Ahhhh.  I can’t decide.  I’ve got 10 days to make my mind up!

3 thoughts on “I’m Back!!

    • It’s brilliant isn’t it! I’ve got it mentally pinned up in my brain!

      Thinking about it, I’m actually a little scared I’ve entered, it’s the first thing I’ve ever done with any of my writing (other than bits and pieces on my blog). Eek!

Leave a Reply

