A Brand New Week

Well, my target was to finish this writing course assignment by Friday.  Obviously I didn’t succeed in that.  I’d like to make excuses, in fact I’m going to, I need to review the stories in a magazine, but the magazine only comes out once a week, so I’ve only been able to look at a couple.  I feel like I really need more.  I’ve done everything else for it, so might just wait until Friday to add another review before I send it off. 

I’ve started reading the next modules for it, so will just get on with the next assignment.  I’m sure that’s fine. 

The next three modules are about planning and writing a novel.  Hmm.  I wish I’d read them 4 months ago before NaNo.  Although so far, I did do what it says, but that’s not much, I’m only on page 3 or something.  After these writing novel modules they go onto editing, which is just what I need.  I’m now feeling good that I’ve ignored Italian Infatuation since November – there’s obviously a reason I did and it’s probably that I need to read this first.  I’m a great believer in things happening for a reason, and this fits in well with this. 

Over the weekend I received a book in the post.  Woop!  Even better than that, it was a free book thanks to the Thriller & Suspense Challenge I’m taking part in over at Book Chick City this year.  The kind people from SIMON & SCHUSTER UK gave everyone taking part a free ARC (which I’ve found out to be an unedited version on the novel) of one of two books – I got Random by Craig Robertson.  Ooh, it sounds so good.  Apparently it’s not out until April so I’ll be among the first to read it.  How exciting.  I’m going to try not to buy any more books for a month, so the next book I read will be the next in the Millenium series by Steig Larsson, then Random.  Yay!   Then that will be 4 out of 12 Thriller & Suspense books read by March.  Excellent. 

The book I’m reading now (as you can see from my sidebar) is Coming Home by Melanie Rose.  I picked it up in the shop and thought it looked pretty good, but, due to my 70+ full to be read bookshelf, I nearly put it down.  Just as it was going back on the  shelf, I saw the words ‘A must for all Cecelia Ahern and Sophie Kinsella fans’ (in so many words).  Damn, that had me.  I’m really enjoying it, I can’t wait to see where the story goes. 

Last week I entered a Search Term Challenge at ErgoFiction.  The first story is up… Read it here.  A new story/entry will  be added each day, then when all the stories are up, you can vote for your favourite (it’s all anonymous on the website).  Exciting! 

I thought I had about a million other things to blog about, but it would seem not.  Hmmm.

2 thoughts on “A Brand New Week

  1. I agree that things do happen for a reason!
    We don’t always meet the goal we set for ourselves but that doesn’t mean we won’t eventually get there.

    Just yesterday, another author and I were discussing the fact that as writers we often have many things in the works, things that we can pick and choose to work on depending upon how we feel at the time. She mentioned that her novel (which was published in 2009) had been written 10 years ago. Patience really does come in handy.

    • Wow. I think patience is something I’m going to have to work hard on – it’s not my best virtue. Especially after reading your blog the other day about a story you have about to be published that you sent in ages ago. Yes, going to have to learn this.

Leave a Reply

