Three Day Weekend

I’ve got a three-day weekend!  I’ve got a three-day weekend!  Not that I’m excited or anything.  The downside to this is that I probably won’t be doing any writing for the next three days, as I never seem to at weekends.

Although having said that, it’s Friday tomorrow, which can only mean Fiction Friday, which I do love.  I’ll HAVE to find some time to fit that in.  Shouldn’t be hard – it’s supposed to only be a five-minute write.  Ooh, I can’t wait 🙂

The day being Friday tomorrow also means that another copy of the magazine I’m analysing for my writing course comes out.  I’ll get a copy, do a quick review of the ‘coffee break’ short story, then that’s my assignment done.  I’ll send it off this weekend then. 

I’m coming on nicely with reading the modules for the next part of the course.  Every time I have a chance to read, I find there’s a straight out fight between the novel I’m reading and the next module.  I want to read them both so much.  Why aren’t there more hours in the day?

One of my collegues’ wife is just about to have a baby.  He works in another office that is even quieter than this one.  I’m going to be covering his paternity leave.  YAY!  That means a reduced amount of work for me to do daily (I know – less than I do already – crazy!) and no boss on site – so I can pretty much do what I want.  Plus, the desk has a high front, so I can read my course assignment booklet there without anyone seeing.  I’m so excited about that.  Hope she has the baby soon.  Also, I’ll get to see baby pictures – ahhhhh. 

I’ll also mention the Search Term Challenge ErgoFiction are holding that I’ve entered.  Each day for 14 days they are going to post one entry.  So far there’s three entries that I think are really good.  Check them out here.  They’re anonymous so I can’t tell you which of the 14 that will be posted is mine – I will do in 3 weeks once the voting has closed!

And finally for today, I’ve made a plan to get through my stack of 70+ unread books on my shelf.  For every 2 I read, I’m going to allow myself to buy ONE.  That should stop it growing and growing as it keeps doing.  I’ve not worked out what I’m going to do about library books… Or books that are given to me…  Like George Orwell’s nineteen Eighty Four (I talked my mum into buying for me this weekend) or Linwood Barclay’s Too Close To Home (which she’s just read and gave to me). 

Well, that’s killed a little more time, there’s only 6 hours and 20 minutes until my weekend starts. *happy dance – virtual anyway – I don’t want funny looks!*

Leave a Reply

