Assignment 2 – done (finally)

That’s right, 10 months and a change of direction in the course later, I’ve finally finished and sent the second assignment of my writing course.  I’m pretty happy with it.

I had to write a short story, and I sent one I actually wrote a little while ago, but while I was doing the course.  I’m actually really happy with it, so it will be interesting to see what my tutor has to say – to see if it’s as good as I think it is.  I did spend about 3 months working on it, so it should be pretty good.

That means I move on to assignment 3.  I’ve already started reading the modules for it – really interesting ones about writing, editing and selling novels.  Just what I need after Italian Infatuation.  I’m not going to start writing the next assignment until I have the feedback from this one – that should be less than 10 days.

I’m about halfway through The Girl Who Played With Fire.  I really wanted to finish it in February, but as I only started it on Thursday that was pretty unrealistic.

The problem when I read, a good book,  is that I get totally engaged – to the detriment of anything else I should be doing.  I’m currently reading a really good novel, so haven’t read any more of the course since Thursday.  When I finish this book, I’ll have to stop myself from reading another – make sure I get on with the course.

I found a really interesting blog today by Kaye Dacus (the ‘pop quiz’ and following answers) that was all about commas.  I didn’t get time to read all of it, but it was really interesting.  It cleared something up for me that’s been bugging me for a while.  This is the kind of thing I should be doing to help with my writing.

We’re up to entry eight on the Searchterm Challenge on ErgoFiction.  I’m really enojoying reading them all, and finding it so interesting to see the different directions people are taking.  Read all eight – plus a new entry each day here.

2 thoughts on “Assignment 2 – done (finally)

  1. Receiving feedback is so important, especially in the beginning. As writers we always hope for feedback that is helpful, most times it is. It’s a good sign that you are pleased with the story. Congrats on sending it off and best of luck!

Leave a Reply

