Mid Week Mumbles

We had a temp at work today.  While we were chatting about how quiet my office is compared to her usual office, I mentioned that I pass the time by doing my writing course.  Nothing weird about that, as I do. But, there’s not that many people I’ve told that.  10 months ago I wouldn’t have told her either.  I’m starting to feel more confident about writing and not so shy about talking about it.

I think the fact I’m now taking part in Fiction Friday and posting something I’ve written weekly has been a big step towards this.  Also entering the ErgoFiction Search Term competition (although no one knows which story is mine) has helped.  Plus I guess I’ve thrown the 1st draft of my novel out there, and 3 or 4 other people have read it.  That’s rather a lot from a girl who doesn’t like admitting to writing. 

The temp asked if I was doing the course with an aim to write a novel –  I told her I have (and explained only the first draft).  Even 4 months ago I didn’t admit I was writing a novel, even to people I knew.  Strange how quickly things change. 

I cannot read my current book, The Girl who Played with Fire, fast enough.  It’s gripping.  Especially as I thought I’d worked out something, but in the last 3 pages found out it wasn’t what I thought it was.  I think I like this more than the first in the series The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, because I ‘know’ the characters more in this than in the last one, so I feel more empathy for them. 

Right off to do a little work before home time!

Leave a Reply

