The Weekend’s Accomplishments

So much to talk about…

Firstly, all the entries have been posted for the Search Term Challenge on ErgoFiction.  One of the 14 stories is mine, but I can’t tell you which.  You can vote for your favourite 3 (yes, three) until Saturday, then the winner, and authors of all the stories will be published.  How exciting.

I got my writing course assignment back today.  I’ve not had a chance to go through it in that much detail, but it’s looking, um, ok.  I’ve a lot to work on, which is really what I expected.  She didn’t like my story as much as I do, but now I’ve read her comments, I can see why.  All good.  That means I can get on with writing the next assignment.  Can’t wait – it looks great.

I did a little bit of the course on the train home at the weekend – a bit where you do it for practice not for handing in.  They give you an idea of a novel, then you have to write a full synopsis of where you’d take it.  2 1/2 pages later I finished mine.  Loving the idea of the novel, and unsurprisingly it’s totally different from where they took it.  It’s made me think maybe I could possibly write thrillers.  I Can’t use what I did as it’s their idea.  Nevermind – I’ve enough other ideas to keep me going for a few years!

I finished reading The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo.  I really enjoyed it, in fact, I’m going to have to do a review of it at some point for the Thriller & Suspense Reading Challenge I’m doing this year.  Should do that while it’s fresh in my mind.

At the weekend I saw my step mum, who reads even more than I do.  I couldn’t even guess how many books she reads a year – I think I’ll just stick to lots!  We swapped Sandra Brown books. I gave her The Crush, which I really really loved, she gave me Standoff.  It was a short novel (compared to the one I’ve just read anyway, that was nearly 600 words).  I read a lot yesterday and finished that too.  I like Sandra Brown, I’m so glad I discovered her.  I guess I need to do a review of that too, again for the T&SRC.

All in all, I had a pretty good weekend with regards to reading and writing.

Leave a Reply

