Winning and Losing

First, and most importantly, the results to the Search Term Challenge, ran by ErgoFiction, are out.  As expected I didn’t win, but still really enjoyed taking part.  Congrats to the winner and two runners-up (2nd place went to Merrilee – who won it the last couple of times).  If you’re interested, my story is called ‘A Second Chance’ and you can see it here.  You can read all other 13 stories here – if you’ve got time, I recommend you do – they’re really good. 

The thing I love most about this competition, and Fiction Friday, is that everyone gets the same prompt (or set of terms to get in the story), but their stories go in such different directions.

I’m working from a different office for half of this week (and Thursday/Friday last week).  On both days last week I wrote (the first draft) of a short story.  I want to carry that on this week too.  My tutor said I need to work on stories with a twist – the one I sent in for ‘marking’ wasn’t as good twist as I thought; she saw it coming. 

Eek, that reminds me.  I’ve not done any of my writing course for over a week now.  That’s so bad.  I blame my house mate who’s just leant me Sophie Kinsella’s Twenties Girl.  How can I pick up my module book, when I’ve got a Sophie Kinsella book burning a hole in my bag?  Impossible.  I need to finish it quickly so I can get on with the course.  Do I sound like a broken record yet?  I say that every time I’m reading a book.  I need to control myself and not start one when I finish one, but I can’t resist. Sigh.  Still at least I’m reading, not doing something unproductive like watching TV! 

I’m doing something really exciting tonight.  I won preview tickets to The Blind Side from LoveFilm.  Woo hoo!  Can’t wait – I love Sandra Bullock films, and this one won her an Oscar.  Yippeeee.

2 thoughts on “Winning and Losing

  1. Sandra also won (and collected in person a Razzie, which is way cooler than an Oscar – it seems anyone in Hollywood can get one of those if they keep their nose clean.

    And “Losing” only has one ‘o’. :p

Leave a Reply

