Peter’s Chair’s beginning

I can’t think of anything to blog about today, so thought I’d share a little excerpt of some writing I did this morning. 

There I was reading though my regular blogs when I found a great prompt for writing from I Had the Write Idea.  The prompt quite simply was ‘Peter’s Chair’. Well, I love a good prompt, in fact I don’t think I’ve ever written anything that hasn’t come from a prompt of one sort or another (except the novel of course).  This is where I went with it (I’ve spent a little time on it, but not too much… so don’t expect perfection!):

‘Peter’s chair stood in the corner of the room.  It was that chair that had got him through his childhood.  Whenever his parents were arguing he’d go and sit on the chair, put on his dad’s huge old headphones and listen to music for hours and hours. 

He couldn’t believe his mum had kept it, in fact he couldn’t believe she’d kept everything in the room the same.  Stepping into it, he felt like he was stepping back in time fifteen years. 

When his dad walked him out of the house that night, he thought it was just another fight.  He thought they’d be back in a couple of days, a week max.  When they’d got to the airport he’d never even dreamt that his dad would be taking him back to England permanently, and that he wouldn’t see his mum or sister for months. 

He’d loved his life in England, the teenage years at school were great, uni was even better, and now he had a great job and stunning girlfriend.  But there was always something in him that made him question if he was doing the right thing. 

Should he have come back to America when he’d turned 18 and been able to?  Or a couple of years later when his dad died?  He’d been so settled in England.  He felt English – he even sounded English. 

But had he have been here maybe he could have stopped everything that happened.  Maybe he wouldn’t be here now emptying the house…’

Well, that’s all there is to it.  I have a few ideas for where it might go.  One of them is nowhere. I’ve got so many started bits of writing, I’m never going to finish them all.  But this could be the beginning of something.  Maybe.

What do you think?

3 thoughts on “Peter’s Chair’s beginning

  1. LOVE the end of this. You leave enough mystery that I’m not quite positive what happened. Glad you liked the prompt.

  2. Pingback: Fiction Friday – 26th March « Newtowritinggirl's Blog

  3. Pingback: Tweets that mention Peter’s Chair’s beginning « Newtowritinggirl's Blog -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

