Orange Skin Eating Aliens and Other Random Thoughts

I really hate thinking up titles. ‘Orange Skin Eating Aliens and Other Random Thoughts?’ Seriously? Come on…

I came up with what I thought was a great title for my last writing course story ‘A Match Made at Dinner.’ I thought it was a pretty clever play on words for the expression A Match Made in Heaven. Uh, well, my mum didn’t really agree, but I ignored her and sent it off. Then my tutor thought it was ‘Sloppy’ or something. Ah well. I try.

So what is this Orange Skin Eating Alien? *sniggers* Well, I was following a prompt from Novelkicks which said you have to use ‘orange’ in your first sentence. My brain’s first thought was of pretty Orange trees. But a description of an Orange tree in a first sentence? Nah, that’s not going to work. So… An alien eating an Orange skin would? Kinna. As long as it doesn’t have to go anywhere. Although I think it’s maybe a good beginning for a children’s book. You know, to add to the long list of possible books I’d like to write.

I should have done the lottery last night. I really don’t have time in my life for this work thing. (She says having been at work for nearly three hours and having done maybe 30 minutes work! – I am lucky, I know I am).

At the beginning of the week I decided I was going to make myself write 250 words a day. Every weekday and TRY really hard to do the same at the weekend. Monday was a washout, but I figure I had the idea on Monday – didn’t want to wear myself out (actually I’ve just though of that excuse, it’s a good one, I’ll use that one again!) So nothing Monday, Tuesday I did 270 odd words, yesterday I did (*goes to check*) 367 plus a few extra, and today I’ve hit 262, plus I’ve finished a story in 420 characters. So all in all, I’m doing pretty damn well this week. I think I’ve blogged every day too. Wow, that’s good. Must be spring giving me a little lift 🙂

Book update 2:

I finally went to the library yesterday to return the book I stopped reading after 70 pages. I had a list of three books I wanted to pick up, but was going to try to stop myself. Well. I semi failed, semi succeeded. On the list were two full length novels and one 70 page (with large print) novel. When I got there I realised it would be wrong to leave with nothing – so I decided on the short novel. Which would’ve been great if I just walked out with that. But I found lots in the collection of short books that I wanted to read – and walked out with four. Uh, yeah, I know. So last night when I didn’t go to the gym (bad knee), I also didn’t read the novel I’ve started and I didn’t read the modules I need to for my writing course; I read one of the books I picked up.

The collection of books are ‘Quick Reads’ which are:

…ideal for regular readers wanting a short, fast read, and for those who have lost the reading habit or find reading tough. They are short, sharp shots of entertainment.

(Taken from the Quick Reads website you can find here).  How great’s that? They are short too. The one I was reading last night (Woman Walks into a Bar by Rowan Coleman) took me just over an hour to read – maybe a little longer – but basically it was very short. I love that idea and can’t wait to read more. I just hope I can stick to these four, then not get more when I return them. Doubtful, but hey.

*Helen and Walt if you’re reading, I haven’t forgotten I promised I’d blog about the pros and cons I read about posting fiction online. I will do it, I just need to find the posts again. It’s on my to be done list.*

2 thoughts on “Orange Skin Eating Aliens and Other Random Thoughts

  1. I’m looking forward to reading those if you can dig them up again. If not, don’t stress over it. Seeing your mention made me think of a popular author that made one of his books available online (free) before it was published. In fact, he made all of the revisions available as he wrote the novel. Its not the same as trying to get a short piece into a magazine, but I thought it was interesting none-the-less

    http://www.brandonsanderson.com/book/Warbreaker

    I’m loving the post frequency, keep the blog posts coming!

  2. This is how I used to blog. April was bad – still, it’s nearly May, hopefully May will bring a happier more bloggier me 🙂

    I had heard about someone publishing a book online, but not raw-unedited. That’s crazy. Although we do the crazy posting work unedited every Friday too!

Leave a Reply

