Too Much for Twitter

I’ve got Twitter open on my browser, and keep thinking of things I want to say on there when it hit me – why not write a blog with all these thoughts? Doh! If only I’d have thought of that before! Ha ha.

This is bad, on Saturday I did some writing (yep, me writing on Saturday – there is hope yet!) and wrote a note to include something about it in my next blog. The note said ‘just randomly wrote something based on a dream I had – realised it would work well in Holiday.’ Wow, that’s great isn’t it. But four days later, I have totally forgotten what the dream was, and what the bit of writing was. I remember it was quite long – well 500 ish words, which is much better than the 250 I’m aiming for a day.

Sunday and Monday were wash outs with the whole writing thing, Sunday ’cause I worked then went out and Sunday because the hangover and morning after blues were too bad. Although remembering how much I liked the piece I wrote for [Fiction] Friday last week when I was sad, I probably should’ve done something.

I am currently in book lovers heaven – or I will be over the long weekend I have coming up. On Saturday I’m going to Keris Stainton’s book launch party. She’s just released her first YA novel ‘Della Says:OMG’, I’ve only read the first chapter, but it looks great. So I get to go along, meet Keris, buy the book and get it signed. How ace.

Then, as if that wasn’t enough, on Monday I’ve been lucky enough to get hold of a ticket to a Lisa Jewell (yes, THE Lisa Jewell) event where she’ll be reading from her new novel After the Party (a follow-up to the brilliant Ralph’s party from 10 or so years ago). There’s another book buy and signing. Seriously how good is this weekend going to be. Oh, plus my Mum’s coming to town, so lots of lovely meals out and touristy stuff to be done! Excellent. Just what I need right now!

Stuff may be happening about my denied holiday at the end of the month. If I don’t get into huge amounts of trouble, there’s a little gleam of light that might turn into me being able to get the week off in the end. In fact, even if I do get into trouble, I still might get it off. But I might not, so not getting my hopes up again yet.

I’ve just started reading ‘What French Women Know: About Love, Sex and Other Matters of Heart and Mind’ by Debra Ollivier. I won it in a competition run by Piatkus books on Twitter (one of my many recent wins 🙂 ). I’m not sure if I would have read it had I not have won it, as it’s not generally the kind of thing I’d look at. But already I’m glad I am reading it. I’m only on the first chapter, and haven’t really learnt much, but I’ve read enough to want to know more. I’ll keep you informed!

I started on my next writing course assignment today. I shouldn’t have done as I’ve not yet re-read the modules I need to before I start, but I knew I had to do some writing, and I thought that would be a good thing to start on. The first piece is a 250 word argument between two people. I’m already at 350 words, and it’s not finished. Oops. Might need to change that – I do have ideas though. I ‘googled’ what couples argue about to get a few ideas but when I started it, it turned into (this is going to sounds weird) an argument that me and my ex would probably have had in the future, had we not have split up. Well, they say write what you know. Not that I’ve had that particular argument. Still, you know what I mean (I hope you do, cause I’m now not so sure).

Ok, I thought I had more, but maybe not. If I can edit this in the next five minutes I can post it before my lunch break, then spend the afternoon on my writing course! Lets hope it doesn’t need much 🙂

Leave a Reply

