How I Could Get More Done

I’ve just had a revelation. If I spent more time actually doing something, rather than trying to work out what to do, I’d get so much more done. If I cancelled my twitter account I’d get a hell of a lot more done. I joined in November, and used it a little then, but from February on I’ve been addicted. Over 500 tweets can’t be all that good in such a short amount of time. Ah well.

I’ve also had a little revelation about my 1/4 written novel, ‘Holiday’. I think I’ve been struggling to pick it back up because I don’t know where it’s going. I know the first 1/3 and I know the basic things that happen in the rest and the end, but not all the nitty-gritty of the seven days of their holiday. My revelation is that I don’t need to know – I can just write and see where it takes me. Simple. I only semi planned the 20,000 words I’ve written so far, so should just write and see where the next 60,000 go. It’s what I do with ALL my short stories and they work out. Plus, tons and tons of authors write that way.

I kind of planned ‘Italian Infatuation’ – I had a diary of what would happen on each day, but not that much detail. I don’t know why I’m stressing about not knowing for this one.

I say that, but then I’ve got a couple of other projects I should maybe prioritise: my writing course and editing ‘Italian Infatuation’.

I’ve started the next assignment for my writing course, so should work on that. There’s 20 assignments or something, and I’m only on I think my 4th, maybe 5th, can’t remember. I think that should be my priority. In fact, I’ve got the word document of the started assignment open on my computer. When I’ve done this I’ll do it. Definitely.

But then, I also want to edit II now. After Keris telling me her NaNo novel got her a book deal, and Lisa Jewell telling me she loves editing, I feel quite revved up to get on with it. The problem is that I’ve not got word at home on my (dying) laptop, but I do at work. So if I’m working between the computers it reformats everything each time I email it over to the other one. It’s so annoying, it nearly drove me crazy during NaNo, but as I was only writing it then it wasn’t too bad. Hopefully I’ll be getting a new laptop in the next week or so, so will be able to start it then. After I’ve done this assignment for the writing course.

I’ve been really bad at writing the last few days, ok, maybe the last week. On Friday I did both Rowan Coleman’s Short Story Competition on Facebook AND Fiction Friday, but since then I don’t think I’ve done any. Saturday, Sunday and Monday I had my Mum in London and honestly didn’t give it a thought. I think I did some on Tuesday, but then was too busy yesterday to do any. When I say too busy, you know, Twittering, blogging, all those really important things. I meant to do some after I went to the gym and had dinner, but forgot. I’ve not yet got in the habit of writing at home. I need to, afterall, writing in the evenings would beat watching boring TV!

At the weekend my mum was pestering me to find a writing group to join. This is something I really want to do, and I keep looking at them, but I’ve not made that step towards doing anything. I will. Soon.

Ok, that’s enough, I’m going to go and spend an hour on my writing course before lunch! No, really, I am.

4 thoughts on “How I Could Get More Done

  1. Have you ever considered a web application for writing? I don’t use it for my writing but Google Docs (http://docs.google.com) is a word processor that can be accessed online. It saves your data online and can be picked up whenever you like from anywhere you have an internet connection.

    Another option is Dropbox (https://www.dropbox.com/) which allows you to sync files across computers. I wouldn’t put it on my work computer, but you can access your files online for editing/syncing. I use it so that I have web access to files and photos for my personal blog and to sync those same files and folders between my laptop and desktop so that I have 2 copies, just-in-case.

    As far as Twitter goes, it could be worse. You could have 14,600+ tweets…. lol. Twitter only gets really time consuming when you have access to it on your cell phone and have access to it at any time, in any place.

    • Wow Walt, that’s a lot of Tweets. I hope you’ve been on there for longer than the few months I have!

      No, I’d never heard of either of those, I’ll check them out, thanks.

  2. I agree, sometimes it’s really difficult to just sit down and write. I often have times when I don’t fit it into my day. But once a good idea hits me I’m all consumed.

Leave a Reply

