Good Day

After the disastrous couple of days I’ve had (writing wise) today’s actually been pretty good. I’ve… wait for it… worked on my writing course! To be honest I’ve not all that much, but I think editing 2 sections is quite an achievement. I’ve also started another part of it. I’ll try to get that done as my daily writing before I leave work tonight.

I’m going out tonight so I definitely won’t be able to do any writing when I get home – unlike last night. Yep, when I got home, I did some writing! That’s the first time in soooo long. I’m really happy with myself for that. Now if I could just start doing that regularly.

I made a couple of really big decisions in the last 24 hours that are going to change my life (and writing) quite dramatically.

Firstly, my housemate is selling up and moving. She’s staying in London, but I’ve decided I’m not going to move with her, but find somewhere new. Exciting and scary. She’s probably not going to put it on the market until the end of July, but that’s something to think about. I’m seeing it as a positive thing – new people, new area, new room. I’m going to choose a room this time that has (or can fit) a desk (my current room doesn’t have one, and there’s no desk or even table I can comfortably write on in the lounge or kitchen). Then I’ll have no excuse not to write in the evenings and at weekends. I think having a dedicated place for writing will make me more inclined to do some.

The other big decision is that I’m going to look for a new job. Now. Well, I’m going to start this week anyway. There’s a couple of main reasons for that. The first being that I don’t know if I’ll have a job in September anyway – I’m a contract receptionist and the company I’m working at are moving offices – they’re not sure if they’re taking us with them. So, if they don’t, hopefully my company will find me another job, but it will be in September. If they don’t I’ll be looking for a new job. Potentially round about the time I move. I don’t want to be moving and starting a new job at the same time – so I figure I’ll start the ball rolling with a new job now. If I can get one within a month (fingers crossed), I’ve got to give a month’s notice so can leave early August, so be settled in before I start looking for somewhere to live.

The other reason for it, is that I’d quite like a nicer place than I can currently afford. If I get a job which pays better than this one, I’ll be able to afford a better room, in a better house, in a better neighbourhood than I currently can.

So what does that mean for writing? Well, short-term it means I’m going to have to be very disciplined. Last time I looked for a job it took up all my spare time (and more). So this time I’m going to set aside specific hours in the day to write, and to job hunt. Hopefully that way I’ll be able to carry on writing while I look for something else.

Long term – well, that all depends on the job I find. Most of the writing I do at the moment is at work. My job’s so quiet that I get so much time to do it a day. If I get another job like this great. However the chances are slim (and I’d quite like a more interesting job where I’m actually doing something). So again, I’ll have to be disciplined. I’ll have to spend x minutes a day writing – during my lunch breaks or whatever, then will have to set aside specific times in the evenings (maybe two or three times a week) and at weekends just to write.

This could be a good thing. At the moment I can get a little complacent – I think I’ve got all day to write, so will do it later, later, later. Then when later comes I find I’ve actually got work to do or something that stops me from writing. This way if I make myself write at specific times, I may well get more done!

That’s all my news for today. Tomorrow’s Friday which can only mean Fiction Friday over at WriteAnything and Rowan Coleman’s Stauts Short Story Friday. Yay! Love Fridays!

4 thoughts on “Good Day

Leave a Reply

