Too Many Projects

I am not doing too well with writing or blogging at the moment, and I know the reason. I’ve just got too much on and my time management really isn’t that good. I’m looking for jobs, applying for jobs, trying to do a writing course, trying to write 250 words a day and trying to improve my touch typing. Not all possible with a job too. Grrrr. 

I also get distracted easily. Today for instance, have I done any writing? Have I applied for any jobs? No. It’s taken me until 17.18 to even start a blog. Nothing else. I’ve just been emailing friends and chatting today (plus, my boss is on holiday so I took an extra long lunch break – he he).

How’s it all going then you ask? Well, I need to make time for blogging. I love having this outlet to my thoughts. I think it’s a good thing to do. Other than the last couple of days, I’m doing pretty well writing. I even did some on Saturday. Wow. Job hunting is pretty rubbish. And boring. And time-consuming. I feel like at this rate I won’t get anything until next year – and no matter how fast the year is flying, next year is too far away. I’d love to get out of here tomorrow.

I’ve finished the book I was reading last week – What My Best Friend Did by Lucy Dawson. It was one fo the best books I’ve read in a while. I was positively hooked from the beginning. I was a little disappointed when I read the ending, but thought about it more, and realised any ending would’ve been a disappointment. Such a good book.

I’ve (finally) started American Gods by Neil Gaiman. I wasn’t really bothered about reading it, but it’s the chosen book for One Book One Twitter and I wanted to be part of that so got it. I’m one chapter in and hooked. Not much is really happening, but there’s something about it that’s got my interest. Although there was just  a really weird bit which I’m a little confused (and horrified) by. Not enough to put me off though. Although, after reading Random by Craig Robertson, I wonder if there’s anything gross enough to stop me from carrying on. I’m sure there is – I don’t want to read it.

Right that’s enough, I’ll try to do something productive now. What’s that you cry? Work. Ha ha, I don’t think so!

2 thoughts on “Too Many Projects

  1. Even though the constrictions on writing time may seem as if they are a bad thing, they can open up the mind to thinking which wouldn’t otherwise be apparent – you’re still writing when you aren’t actively writing, because the thoughts and ideas you have whilst engaged in other things can be put to use in fiction. Don’t be discouraged. We all have external pressures on writing time, and fighting against them only expends energy which could be put to better use.

    Good luck with the job search.

Leave a Reply

