Blogging, Writing and Stuff

Considering how much I do actually enjoy blogging, I’m doing a terrible job of it at the moment. I can’t even use the excuse that I’m busy applying for jobs or writing, cause I don’t seem to be doing either. I’m doing lots of stressing about not doing any of the three – apparently stressing doesn’t get anything done.

When I decided I’d start looking for a job I made a pact with myself that I’d be strict – an hour writing, an hour looking/applying for jobs. I don’t know what happened. I need to work harder on both of these things, they’re both things I want, and I won’t get either without working on them.

Yesterday I was going through the folder of stuff copied over from my old laptop to my new one. I found one called ‘old writing’, that did have some very old writing: the novel I started in 2002, and, something I’d totally forgotten – the start of 2 Mills & Boon books from 2007. One was the original idea for Italian infatuation – which is quite different from the version I’ve written.  So different in fact, I think it would make another book. If I could handle the idea of ANOTHER book set on holiday. That would be three – presuming Holiday ever gets written!

I’m about 1/3 of the way through American Gods by Neil Gaiman. It is the weirdest book I’ve ever read. There’s at least one part in every chapter where I’m questioning what the hell is going on. But, even considering that, it’s really good. I hope as it gets to the end everything will fall into place. I’ve read a few comments from the One Book One twitter readers of the book – from these I have a feeling I might get to the end and want to read it all again to have the bits slot into place.

I’ve got Thursday and Friday off work this week. Friday cause I’m going to Glasgow for the weekend and why not have thursday too. I’m going to work on my writing course. I just need to edit the assignment I’ve done, so I should be able to send it off then. I’ll also do my Fiction Friday piece then, cause I’m pretty sure I won’t get a chance to do it otherwise.

3 thoughts on “Blogging, Writing and Stuff

  1. I totally sympathize with you. I’m having a similar problem at the moment (minus the job part) in that I keep promising myself time to write and do courses but I can’t find the energy.
    x

  2. Sometimes it’s tough settling into the things that we know we HAVE to do simply because we know we must. It’s our rebellious nature!

    You’ll get back on track, I’m sure. Best of luck with the job search!!

Leave a Reply

